Fruit and Veggie Refuel

Another day off which meant another day to run! This time I was smart and prepped my breakfast before I left.

Do you ever see someone do something so obvious, you wonder why you hadn’t thought of it yourself? That’s exactly how I felt when I was poking around Peas and Thank You and saw Banana Splits on a Stick.

Sure, I’ve thought to stick bananas in melted chocolate and cover them with chopped nuts. Even before Arrested Development, I was no stranger to the delight of chocolate covered bananas. But why had I never thought to cover them with yogurt? Sheesh.

I’m glad someone else is on top of things.

  • 2 popsicle sticks
  • 1 banana cut in half (my last one!)
  • 1 container Chobani Honey Nana greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp milled flax seed
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
It really can’t get any easier than this.

Insert popsicle stick into the center of half a banana.

Use a spatula to cover the banana with yogurt.

Combine nuts, coconut, and flax seed and sprinkle on each banana half. Freeze for at least an hour before consuming.

*****

My run went really well today, much better than last time. I pushed myself to run the first mile plus one tenth, then spent the rest of my time alternating between power walking and running. My math always gets a bit goofy when I’m exhausted, but I think I ran about 2.8 miles altogether and walked 1.8.

While running, I was thinking about my cousin and my co-worker who are running the Cellcom Marathon in Green Bay this weekend. At this point in my running journey, I can’t even wrap my head around the fact that anyone can run more than five straight miles (okay, one mile). Kudos to anyone who has that kind of stamina and fortitude! I hope I can get to your level one day.

When I got home, I popped one of those bananas out of the freezer and into my mouth. Perfect cool-down breakfast.

After showering and getting dressed, I set out to make some food. Cause that’s pretty much all I do. I felt horrible when I woke up this morning and realized I had forgot to pack Dave a lunch for today. If I don’t pack a lunch, he doesn’t bring food to work.

I whipped up a pasta salad for him with penne, broccoli, grapes, and a dressing made with miracle whip, red wine vinegar, sugar, salt, and pepper. Topped with sliced hardboiled eggs and cashews. I hope it holds him over for the next two days.

And for my own lunch today and leftovers, I finally made a recipe I’ve had my eye on for awhile–Sweet Potato and Cauliflower Pie, courtesy of Mama’s Weeds.

I had to change things up a bit, as I am out of spinach and have to save my lone onion for something else.

Sweet Potato, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Pie

For the crust:

  • 1 medium sweet potato, shredded
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 small onion, shredded

Pre-heat oven to 400 F. Mix shredded potato and onion with beaten egg. Grease a pie pan and form potato mixture into crust.

Bake crust for 40 minutes.

A little crispy…but I love things extra crispy.

While the pie crust is baking, set to work on the filling.

  • 4 – 5 oz shredded cheese (I used a combo of cheddar and colby)
  • 1/4 medium cauliflower, cut into small florets
  • 2 cups of frozen broccoli florets
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 milk (I used skim)
  • thyme, basil, paprika, salt, and pepper

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add minced garlic and sautee until soft. Stir in herbs. Add broth, cauliflower, and frozen broccoli to pan. Cover and cook for about 15 minutes.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs, add milk, salt, and pepper.

When crust is finished cooking, remove and reduce oven temperature to 375.

Layer half of the cheese in the bottom of the cooked crust.

Top with cauliflower and broccoli mixture.

Top with remaining cheese, and pour egg/milk mixture over.

Bake at 375 for about 35 minutes.

 

A hot lunch? For me?

I don’t even remember the last time that happened. I wasn’t sold on the first bite but the more I had, the more I liked it. So much so that I had another small piece.

Perfect refueling food.

 

Leave a Comment