Can’t Get Enough Cauliflower

Move over broccoli, there’s a new sheriff in town.

(But don’t move too far, because I can’t live without you).

My husband is not a fan of cauliflower, so I never used to buy it. Then I realized we don’t eat together 90% of the time, so that shouldn’t stop me from gnawing down on this delicious cruciferous (I think he’s Lucius Malfoy’s brother), fibrous, vitamin packed veggie.

I mean, you can add it to curry. You can make faux mashed potatoes out of it. Snack on some cauliflower poppers. Or make traditional and delicious roasted cauliflower.

 

Rosemary Garlic Roasted Cauliflower 

  • 1/4 head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Toss cauliflower with rosemary, garlic, and olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast in a 425 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.

And in an effort to reduce my freezer supply, I had my last Veggie Medley Gardenburger on a wheat sandwich thin. For toppings, I decided to go with cheddar cheese, sauteed spinach, and caramelized onions.

To caramelize onions:

Melt butter in a saucepan sprayed with olive oil spray over medium heat.

Add onions.

Stir occasionally.

When they look like this (after about 10 minutes), sprinkle on a bit of salt, turn heat down to medium low and keep cooking.

When they turn a caramel brown color and smell so good you can’t stand it, remove them from the heat.

I forgot how fantastic caramelized onions are. No ketchup or mustard required. But pickles are a must.

I’m so glad I let cauliflower back into my life. I may have a slight veggie addiction. But it could be worse.

 

Leave a Comment

