Avenge Your Hunger

Joss Whedon can do no wrong in my eyes. I am a devoted Firefly fan. A Dr. Horrible lover. And I won’t complain if you make me watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer. So it was only natural that I shell out some hard earned cash for a matinee showing of his newest movie, The Avengers. I went armed with one of my favorite movie treats.

Yes, I still have candy left over from Christmas. Candy canes are a splendid movie treat for me, because they keep my mouth busy for awhile and are about 25 cents compared to the 5.00 popcorn. And since movies are better with company, I asked my sisters to join me.

The Avengers was better than I expected. Honestly, I had no idea what it was about before I went to go see it, but as soon as I heard Joss Whedon had a hand in it, I was sold. I could definitely sense his presence in the dialogue, which was quite good for an action move.

And there’s nothing wrong with watching good-looking people fight. I couldn’t decide who my favorite character was or which of the men had bigger biceps.

When I got home, I was famished and ready for a delightful dinner. Though I could have reached for something quick, I decided to take my time instead and take time to make something well worth waiting for:

Caramelized Onion Risotto

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, sliced thinly
3/4 cups Arborio (risotto) rice
1/4 cup white wine
3 1/2 cups vegetable broth, heated
salt and pepper to taste
fresh herbs (optional)

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and cook for 15 to 20 minutes until onion is soft and caramelized. Add rice and stir to combine. Let cook for another minute. Add white wine and let reduce almost all of the way. Reduce heat to medium low. Begin adding vegetable broth a cup at a time. Add more broth as each cup is absorbed. Continue until rice is al dente (you might not use all the broth). Season with salt, pepper, and any herbs.

Source: Fake Ginger

*****

My second time making risotto proved to be a charm. It was creamy, flavorful, and sinfully delicious, even with no added spices.

Served up with some baked salmon (seasoned with cumin, salt, and pepper) and roasted artichokes (seasoned with minced garlic, salt, and pepper).

Are you worth a 99 cent McDonald’s hamburger? Or are you worth risotto? You decide.

I already have.

4 thoughts on “Avenge Your Hunger

  1. I saw The Avengers last night! It was definitely entertaining and I’ll be curious to see what they do with the sequel. Also, that risotto looks amazing! I’ve officially added risotto to my menu for this weekend. πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

