Baby Shower Bonanza

Here’s the thing: I don’t really like baby showers. I don’t like the games, I don’t like watching people open presents when we already know what’s inside (ie, everything on their registry that we looked through before we bought gifts), and I don’t like the awkward quietness that comes with throwing a whole bunch of people who don’t know each other very well in a room and not offering them the one thing guaranteed to loosen them up: booze.

I’m not an alcoholic, and I like people, so I usually go to baby showers, anyway. Especially when they’re for people who I am truly happy for, like these two: my co-worker Ashley and her husband John.

006

It was like a traditional baby shower in many ways, except for one thing: mimosas. Brilliant.

My coworkers who threw the party did a fabulous job. We played a couple games (I won the nursery game and scored a picture frame and cherry-scented diffuser), ate some delicious food, and watched the new-parents-to-be open lots of gifts.

003

My blurry food plate included a sandwich with tomatoes, cheese, green peppers, onions, pickles and mustard, a couple different pasta salads, cheese and crackers and a fruit kabob. All delicious.

002

One of my coworkers Heather is the Charlotte of baby showers and made a beautiful and useful baby diaper cake. You can always pick out the awesome moms at baby showers.

005I just bring gifts and try to ‘ooh’ and ‘aah’ in the right places.

001

We enjoyed a deliciously creepy baby cake after the gift-opening festivities. I noted how I don’t like the concept of human-shaped cakes, because it feels cannibalistic. Don’t agree with me?

008

How about now?

 

Leave a Comment