Apple Cider Chicken and David Sedaris

IMG_7730This dinner was way more delicious than it looks. Curse you, lack of natural light! (And admittedly colorless food).

My name twin in Washington recommended a recipe to me recently that she thought I’d like: Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pulled Chicken Sandwiches. I’m hoping to get more use out of my crock-pot this year (not that it ever wants for use long), and this was a perfect excuse to break it out on a workday.

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs (I use thighs because we buy Just Bare brand, and they’re cheaper!)
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t pepper
  • 1 T smoked paprika
  • 1 T dry mustard
  • 1 T dijon mustard
  • one 12 oz bottle of hard cider

Place the apple and onion slices on the bottom of your slow cooker. Lay the chicken breasts or thighs over the apple and onion slices, then top with the seasonings and the hard cider. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Shred the chicken with two forks and serve on crusty bread with cheese.

Recipe adapted from: Cupcakes & Kale Chips

Though it was good as is, Dave and I both felt it could have used a bit more flavor, so he doctored it up with some rice wine vinegar and extra seasonings. Still, I loved the minimal ingredient list, the ease of the recipe and, most of all, the fact that it was something different. I’ll definitely make it again.

IMG_7729

I also made some really awesome stuffed mushrooms on the side. I drizzled portabella caps with some of our fancy mushroom sage olive oil and topped it with a mixture of caramelized onions, tomato sauce, garlic, Greek yogurt, and mozzarella cheese, then baked it at 400 for 15 minutes.

Last night’s dinner was boring (but delicious) mac & cheese, because I got to meet one of my absolute favorite authors. Listening to him speak was food for my soul.

IMG_7732

I was introduced to David Sedaris’ creative nonfiction when I was a freshman in college, and it didn’t take me long to fall in love with him. He’s hilarious, profound, crass, lyrical…I could go on and on. I actually only own one hard copy of his books and the rest are audiobooks, because I love listening to him read his books aloud. They have gotten me through many car trips, nights of insomnia, and hours of dishes. I couldn’t believe that the voice I heard last night was coming from a podium in front of me instead of through my iPod.

And in case you’re curious what his silhouette looks like….

IMG_7734

I knew David Sedaris was not a fan of photographs after I read an article he wrote back in 2009 about how embarrassed it made him, so I thought I could snap one while he was talking. Not so much. Luckily, I found said article online, read it, and it cheered me up immensely.

Leave a Comment