Meatball Sub Bread

Last week, Dave had a craving for a meatball sub, which led to another idea for a filled bread. He was so excited about it that he actually drew up a diagram.

meatball sub

 

His passion for food is one of the many things I love about him. And the fact that I get to be the taste-tester.

He spent yesterday creating his first meatball sub masterpiece. Of course, we don’t keep a lot of meat on hand, so he ended up substituting the pork sausage we got at the Vietnamese market last weekend for meatballs for his trial run.

He spent the majority of the afternoon making bread dough and homemade marinara sauce and cooking the sausage.

003

 

The marinara sauce he made was so good. I think it was my favorite part about this bread. He added some marsala wine that my dad gave him for Christmas, and I think it made all the difference; the tomato took on a rich flavor that really popped with all the seasonings.

005

 

Sauteed mushrooms and sausage went atop the sauce.

006

 

Followed by shredded mozzarella cheese.

007

 

He taught me how to properly pinch stuffed bread and then let it rise another half hour before baking.

008

 

Behold, dinner.

009

 

We decided it was okay to skip veggies one night and feasted just on the stuffed bread.

meatball sub 2

 

Thought I wasn’t a huge fan of the sausage, the bread was amazing. Rich marinara sauce, sauteed mushrooms, and melty cheese in warm bread definitely made this idea a win. I can’t wait to try the next batch!

Leave a Comment