Grilling Dont’s

Last night was the perfect example of what not to do while grilling.

009

 

Do not become so engrossed in talking to friends that you forget to check the food on the grill and let your beloved Brussels sprouts burn to a fiery crisp in their grill bed.

011

 

After pulling the semi-charred food off the grill, do not become so engrossed in talking to your friends once again that you let the food sit until it gets cold.

Fridays are so hard for me. After coming home from work at 1:30pm, I am ready to begin my Friday night, but the rest of the world isn’t ready until after 5:00. I did Level 1 of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred and had my pj’s on with a glass of wine by 3:00.

Dave and I spent most of the night together before he suggested a late-night cookout, so we headed to the grocery store to kill some time. We decided on simple fare: Burgers, corn, and Brussels sprouts.

003

 

Dave made a mix of beef and pork with seasonings, and he also made some patties using my bison from the freezer.

001

 

I husked the corn and found this little baby clinging onto it’s mama’s back. I told Dave it reminded me of those children that are born with extra facial features on the side of their head: a few teeth, a couple closed eyes, and a hint of a nose. He stopped me and told me to keep shucking.

004

 

My latest Food Network magazine included 50 ways to dress up fresh corn, but corn is one of those things I don’t want to mess around with too much. Not everything needs to have five adjectives to be amazing. I think sweet corn is best as it is, with a little smear of butter and some salt and pepper, perhaps. In the spirit of upping the ante while still partially maintaining my beliefs, I decided to make some Chili-Lime Honey Butter to dress the corn.

  • 6 tbsp butter, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tsp  honey
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • salt and lime wedges for serving

Mash all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate before use.

Recipe from: Iowa Girl Eats

I was trying to show Dave the wonders of Instagram as I took pictures last night.

006

 

Regular photo of Brussels sprouts.

007

 

Instagram’ed Brussels sprouts!

Dave said, “I don’t see the difference. They still look like Brussels sprouts.”

Oh, woe is me.

008

 

While I shucked corn, I sipped on a dirty martini in a new glass I received for my birthday. It’s been too long, old friend!

010

The burgers were the only food on the grill that got special treatment (ie, were looked after instead of left to burn).

012

 

So many burgers for so few people! The manly men did a good job in the meat department, though.

013

 

I whipped up some guacamole to top the burgers with, and my bison burger was wonderful. I love the more “game-y” taste of bison compared to beef, especially when it’s grass-fed. I picked a few of the least-burned Brussels to eat, and though the corn was really good with the butter, I tried to imagine how much better it would have been had it been hot with the butter sliding off it.

Oh, well. Better a dinner of herbs with friends than a feast for a king by oneself. We have plenty of time to perfect our grilling skills.

Leave a Comment