Eats Lately

Eats lately have been a little strange, as I try to search for inspiration and new, relatively quick things to cook after my ten hour shifts at work (normally while still waiting for Dave to get home, as he tends to work 13 to 15 hour shifts).

Of course, there’s always pizza.

003

This was made with one of our frozen pizza doughs (so handy!) and topped with crushed tomatoes, dried herbs, mozzarella, fresh basil from the garden and chopped spinach.

004

I served mine with a side of buffalo-roasted cauliflower. A bit of a strange combination, but it worked.

001Another night, I made myself chili cheese fries, which I love because they sound terrible for you, but are actually pretty healthy. Roasted sweet potato fries topped with vegetarian chili, shredded sharp cheddar, and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. 

Finally, a new version of one-pot pasta!

002Instead of spaghetti, I used whole wheat rigatoni and cooked it with with onions, diced tomatoes, Mexican black bean salad, spinach, and taco seasoning. Topped off with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt (of course).

003I planned on making chicken sandwiches with brie and jam one night until I came home and discovered the brie was gone. Instead, I made chicken in red wine sauce and served it with cheesy mushroom quinoa and roasted cauliflower and brussels sprouts. The chicken did not look very pretty (nobody really wants to eat red chicken….), but it was actually really good. I loved the wine sauce and scooped a little over my quinoa.

012

And the coup de gras…two ducks, one cooked with Dave’s famous rib recipe, one cooked with orange sauce with plenty of rice and veggies to soak up the goodness. I contributed brie en croute with lobster pate. 

What was your best meal from the week?

 

 

Leave a Comment

