A Summer List

It has been another crazy week. My poor Davy called me Tuesday morning when I got up for work. “Ready to have your day ruined? I hit a deer.”

Remember that new car we got last year?

This is what it looks like now.

image

We’re still waiting to see if the car is totaled or not, but instead of focusing on that, here’s a list of things I am looking forward to, present and future.

Eating: frozen grapes. I love having a bowl of them after dinner. It’s the iciness of a cube that pops into a sweet burst of flavor. So good. Like an icee pop for adults. (Except we also have icee pops in our freezer….)

Drinking: mojitos. I made them for the first time this week with some mint from our garden. So refreshing I had two in a row.

image

Practicing: being calm. Choosing to find things funny instead of getting upset about them.

Mastering: keeping the kitchen floor clean. It’s a battle every week. I will sweep it, vacuum it, Swiffer it, and mop it (all in a row), and two minutes later, it’s dirty again.

Learning: sign language. It’s something I’ve always wanted to learn (for no particular reason, although Mr. Holland helped), so I think I’ll either take a class at the university in town or do an online course in the next year. I think it will be good to exercise my brain a little and learn something new.

Trying: to keep my vegetable and herb plants alive. Dave is especially protective: “Did you water the tomatoes yet?! They need love!” It reminds me of when my mom used to sing to her plants to help them grow.

Playing: outside. Biking, walking, sticking my hand out an open car window, watering the plants, reading on a beach blanket on our lawn–I am trying to put as little space between me and the summer air as I can.

Finishing: about two dozen jars of Inglehoffer Creamy Dill Mustard with Lemon & Capers by myself in the last year. I told Dave to join me, but he is afraid I will go berserk if he finishes a jar of mustard without me.

Reading: books from my bookshelf instead of buying new ones. I’ve already reread The Da Vinci Code, The Dive from Clausen’s Pier and Little Bee, and now I’m onto To Kill a Mockingbird.

Remembering: Dave’s Grandma Ardy and my Uncle Andy. This Saturday would have been my uncle’s next birthday and as musical as he was, I think it’s fitting that we’re going to see The Phantom of the Opera.

Wearing: dresses, skirts, leggings, and lavender body spray. Because pants are too hot, and I want to smell like a flower.

Cooking: on the grill. Bison burgers, asparagus, romaine, watermelon, baby red potatoes, and brie (which I have yet to try!). Everything tastes better on the grill.

Working: ten hour shifts so I can have a day off during the week. The days are longer, but Thursdays are much sweeter.

Traveling: from the middle of the state to the northeast part of the state. Dave and I have mostly been sticking close to home, but I have several fun things planned near our old town this summer: a musical this weekend and Illgenstock to name a couple.

Wanting: everything a little more than is practical.

3 thoughts on “A Summer List

  1. I love this! Pants are hot and I want to smell like a flower too! I hope everything turns out for Dave’s car, but I’m glad he’s okay.

  2. First of all, super sorry to hear about the car. I hope it isn’t totaled! But I loved your look on the bright side — this list is full of so many great things! Frozen grapes are amazing, as are double servings of mojitos (the only way to drink them, I think). I also love that you are re-reading books on your shelf. To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my all-time favorites. I may have to do some re-reading this summer, too!

Leave a Comment

