Tidbits

This post is going to be all over the place, so just bear with me, friends.

This week, I held a newborn baby in my arms for the second time ever of my adult life (the first one being Aurelia). My friend Katie’s baby made his grand entrance into the world over a week ago, and I got to meet him when he was just seven days old.

001

Welcome to the world, Leif!

002

His sister Lily is pleased at punch at his arrival and offered to babysit the monster my friend knit for his arrival.

004

Just look at those little baby feet! I loved that he and Em had their legs and feet in the same position, so I couldn’t resist taking the photo. The juxtaposition is just adorable.

The weather lately has been…hot. We seemed to have skipped over spring right into summer, but I’m not complaining. Bring it on! I woke up this morning to beautiful sunny skies and as I looked out at our lush, green yard, I couldn’t help but smile. Summer makes me so happy.

The kitties are not sure what to do with this weather. We found out this week that the house we’re renting doesn’t have air conditioning, so we’ve been opening all our windows at night to let in the cool air and closing them and the shades during the day to keep out the sunlight. Still, the inside of the house has hovered between a balmy 75 degrees and a ‘wearing as few clothes as possible’ 83 degrees.

Some days, Athena is perfectly content cuddling up against me, despite the heat.

008

 

009

Other days, she and Artemis can be found sprawling on the countertop or lying on a pile of shoes….you know, like you do.

010

I certainly can’t expected to put my shoes away if they make the kitties comfortable, right?

I’ve been trying not to heat the house up too much with cooking, so dinners have been relatively simple this week. Microwaved homemade soup from the freezer, sandwiches and vegetable chips, and this shrimp taco salad to name a few.

005

Spring mix topped with refried beans, roasted peppers, onions, and shrimp, fresh tomatoes and olives, guacamole, shredded cheddar, plain Greek yogurt and chili lime crunchies from Iowa Girl Eat’s blog.

I love all sorts of variations of salads in the summer. Can’t wait to make my watermelon feta salad again, and Ina Garten has a recipe for one with arugula that I want to test out.

I’ve been zipping through books as fast as ever lately. I read for half an hour on my lunch break and for one or two hours before bed. Now that it’s nice out, I’ve been laying outside on a beach blanket on the grass. It reminds me so much of being a kid: my siblings and I sprawled out on the grass or the trampoline, all reading different books.

I reread The Fault in Our Stars in two days to prepare for the upcoming movie, and I just started rereading The Dive from Clausen’s Pier. I’m doing pretty well at not buying new books lately. One of these days, I must get myself to the library to get a card!

 

One thought on “Tidbits

Leave a Comment

