The Art of Mixology

Hey, guys! Thanks for sticking around. My computer has been giving me a lot of problems lately, and Dave finally convinced me to let him wipe the hard drive for the second (third?) time. Now it’s clean as a whistle….meaning I have to once again replace all my programs, music, pictures, etc. Eh, at least it works.

I haven’t been taking any food pictures since I knew I couldn’t share them with you, but I would like to share my experience last weekend with you. A few of my friends planned to come visit us on Saturday, and I practically begged my brother and sister to come the Friday before. As you’ve probably figured out, my siblings are some of my best friends, and if more than a few weeks pass without me seeing them, I go a little crazy.

They came!

047

049

Since Dave built us such a lovely fire pit, we dedicated Saturday morning to find some firewood. We scored big at a house our friends remembered seeing near their old apartment complex.

032

Sadly, we could only fit 1/3 of it in the back of Serenity. Now, I’m hoping the guy remembers us so we can pick up the rest at some point.

When the rest of the gang arrived late Saturday afternoon, we headed straight to a place I’d been eyeing up lately: Great Northern Distilling. I read about it in one of Stevens Point’s local newspapers, and though most people only think of wine-tasting, I remember how much fun my mom, aunt, and I had touring a distillery in Door County a few years back.

033

I misunderstood that they were giving tours already (they aren’t), but I was only a little disappointed. Just viewing the inside was tour enough for the time being.

034

Distillery

My kind of artwork.

Great Northern Distilling’s mission is “Make great liquor,” and they’re off to a great start. Though they will eventually have vodka, gin, brandy, and whiskey, they were showcasing their local potato vodka the night we arrived.

First, we were given a sample.

036

Dave and I don’t drink vodka regularly (except in Bloody Marys on Sunday), but this vodka may change my mind. It was incredibly smooth with a pleasant and lightly sweet finish. I have never envisioned sipping vodka, but if I did, this would be it.

The menu was quirky, inspired, and, well, just plain delicious-looking.

035

 

 

It took me awhile to decide on a beverage, but the pickle-lover in me simply had to test the “Fill McDill.”

039

It was a summer garden in a glass. Lucky for me, attacking the mixology bar with ten other friends meant I got to taste-test everything on the menu. I couldn’t decide what my favorite was, but the cocktail with the most show was definitely the “Shirley Temple of Doom.”

The owner individually bruleed the cherries for every “Shirley Temple of Doom” right in front of us.

040

And he was a good old sport about it, too.

043

Saving the best for last:

046

We had a splendid time checking out Great Northern Distilling, and I’m very excited to keep taste-testing as they roll out more liquor…especially my beloved gin. GND, if you’re listening, I like my gin in a martini glass: shaken, not stirred.

If you’re ever in Stevens Point, I highly recommend checking out Great Northern Distilling. You won’t regret it.

After we made our way back from the distillery, the rest of the night was spent hanging around our fire pit.

048

Magical.

I asked my friend Emily to take a picture of my siblings and I, but we got photo-bombed by our friend Dan.

056

 

Oh, well, he’s pretty much a member of the family, anyway.

 

2 thoughts on “The Art of Mixology

  1. Hi, I’m the new Managing Editor of Badger Common’Tater, the voice of the Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association. I stumbled across your blog when I was researching Great Northern Distillery. I’d like to talk to you about your writing.

Leave a Comment

