Lately

Look what Dave and I cooked up last weekend:

019

Okay, Dave made the dough, but I sliced up all the toppings! Foccacia bread at its finest.

020

Dave also made his famous ribs and I succeeded in making Dave like cauliflower, Win. I made this delicious cauliflower sauce, mashed up some baby reds, and mixed the two together for a super creamy and delicious side dish. If you haven’t made cauliflower sauce yet, I highly recommend it. I keep thinking how great it would be as a pizza sauce, too.

Monday’s thrown together dinner was the only one worth talking about this week.

023

I cooked chicken, black beans, and scrambled eggs together to create a delicious burrito filling and topped it with diced tomato, arugula, and salsa. The bean mixture made a great addition to my salad the next day at lunch, too.

Wednesday, I got a wonderful surprise. I came home to a box on my doorstep from Seattle!

024

When Facebook was in its infancy, I met a girl online who shared my moniker, and we’ve kept in touch over the years, even though she lives in Washington. We’d been talking about tea earlier, and she sent me the most wonderful care package.

025

Tea, curry powder, chocolates, and thin mints spilled out.

026

Cookbooks, too!

027

 

This woman knows me well. She attached little notes with stories about why she picked certain things, and also added “I’m not sure if you’re a fan of chocolate.” Ha! I dug into a bar of chocolate right after dinner that night and gave the rest to Dave to sample.

It was such a nice surprise and a great reminder that there is good in the world if we look for it.

This week, I started working four ten-hour-shifts (as opposed to five eights) and get Thursdays off now. Today is my first day off, and I’m loving it!

It has been bright and beautiful, and I started my day with a lovely run at Schmeekle Reserve.

028

Despite a few patches of snow at the trail head, the rest of the trail was nice and dry. I did an easy two miles and realized how slow I got over the winter. Ha! At least it was nice to get some fresh air.

031

Weather has got me wrapped around its finger.

Later, I went to Goodwill to finally drop off the stuff that has been sitting in my car for months. Of course, I had to go inside, too. I’m ready for summer clothes!

032

I didn’t have a lot of money to spend, so I mostly window shopped.

On my way home, I plugged Starbucks into my GPS in an effort to finally use the gift card I got from Christmas at work.

033

 

Light Hazelnut Frappucino. I don’t really care for Starbucks coffee, but this frappucino was a perfect midday treat. Since we pretty much only have Ramen in the house for dinner (thus the non-exciting dinners this week), I stopped at Papa Murphy’s on the way home and picked up pizza for dinner.

I’m very excited to be heading home this weekend to spend some time with my family and friends, so I will catch you on the flip side!

Leave a Comment

