Uncharted Territory: Roast Beef

So, the other week Dave and I were talking about roast beef. You know, like you do.

Dave was saying how it takes hours to make and is generally very expensive etc. etc.

002

So, as I’m perusing my regular blogs, I stumble across Iowa Girl Eat’s “Easiest One Hour Roast Beef,” and my immediate thought is: “Ha! I’ll show him!”

Because nothing makes me want to do something like someone thinking or telling me I can’t. Just ask my mom. She still recounts the time I spent an entire summer day on my Grandma’s lawn teaching myself how to twirl a baton after my previous lack of hand-eye coordination suggested otherwise.

003

So I write down the exact type of meat that she used, because going to the meat department of the store without the exact type of meat that I want written down will end in disaster. Why are there so many different types of pot roast? Is there really a difference between a beef brisket and corned beef? Where is Alton when I need him?

I have no idea what an English roast is. Was this cow born in England? Can a moo have a British accent?

I don’t know if I’ll ever understand meat. But I do understand recipes. Rub meat down with olive oil, Sear with a knife and stud with cloves of sliced garlic. Rub with salt, pepper, and rosemary. Put in a handy dandy meat thermometer and cook the roast over a bed of grape tomatoes at 350 degrees until it is 135 degrees. Remove and DON’T TOUCH.

005

I may not know a lot about meat, but I am very familiar with the resting period, as Alton or Dave will cut off your hand if you try to cut into a steak right after it’s done cooking. Meat needs a nap before you can eat it.

The roast is done. I cut it thinly against the grain after it’s rested for about twenty minutes. The au jous is finished. It’s only 3:30. I ask Dave if it’s okay to put the roast beef back in the pan with the au jous and tomatoes on warm, and he says yes.

006

Several hours later, we are invited out by our friends for a pint. I remove the roast beef from the oven and discover that it’s pale pink interior has darkened. I guess I should have put it in the fridge. Fortunately, it didn’t damage my sandwich.

008

Thinly sliced roast beef, roasted tomatoes, arugula, red onion, and dijon mustard on a demi baguette. Uncharted territory is delicious.

009

Leave a Comment

