Ready for Wellies

Hey, guys! How was your week?

The weather has been so whackadoodle lately–40 degrees and sunny one day, grey and gloomy with snow the next.

017All this stuff has to go before spring can officially make it’s entrance, and I think I need to invest in a pair of wellies this year, as I’m sure the immense amount of snow will soon be perfect for puddle-jumping.

Last weekend was just lovely. Dave and I decided not to make any plans at all, so we spent a bunch of time together with a little cleaning, a little cooking, and a lot of relaxing.

011 The highlight for me was grocery shopping.

003And Dave’s homemade focaccia bread.

009

It was just as good as it looked.

In an effort to utilize the massive amount of groceries we bought (since we had pretty much nothing at home), I scrawled out a menu plan for the week.

St. Paddy’s day went by virtually unnoticed on Monday, which is kind of strange for me. My family and I usually go all out for the day, dressing to the nines, and I make a big, traditional Irish dinner for us to celebrate. This year, I made curry for dinner.

However, I’ve been led to believe that curry is actually pretty common in Ireland, so I think I did okay.

013

Per Dave’s request, this curry was not hot enough to kill him. I used mild curry paste and added just a touch of hot curry powder to some frozen veggies, sliced mushrooms, diced tomatoes, coconut milk, and plain Greek yogurt. I love that I can throw whatever vegetables I have on hand in and it always comes out delicious.

Dave had Tuesday off, and I came home to a lovely ham dinner with roasted potatoes, carrots, and Brussels sprouts. It smelled like Thanksgiving in the house. So good that I ate dinner quickly without taking a picture. Oops.

Wednesday night was sandwich night (yes–it happened!) Veggie subs with mashed avocado, cucumbers, spinach, tomato, provolone cheese, banana peppers, and pickles. I had mine with a side of Pop Chips.

016

It really was an epic sandwich.

I was very productive on Wednesday and prepped a Mexican lasagna that I put in the fridge for Thursday’s dinner. Assuming Dave would get home from work before me, I left a little note on top: 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I was going to let him know he could add more cheese on top if he wanted, but that was unnecessary.

018I laughed when I saw it, because not only did he add more cheese, but he put it on in slices instead of shredding it first. That boy. (Edited to add: When Dave read this, he shouted, “Hey! Those squares of cheese looked pretty! It looks like a checkerboard.” Ha ha ha)

Last night I went out with a group from work to celebrate one of my co-workers last days. I’ve only been there a short time, but it’s such a small clinic that you get to know everyone really fast, and she was one of my favorite people there. I’m really going to miss her! We went to a chain restaurant called Charcoal Grill. Dave and I don’t go to chain restaurants very often, but this one was actually not bad. I ordered a Bourbon Chicken Panini with waffle fries for dinner that was quite tasty, but I was not ready to start taking pictures of food in front of my coworkers at that point. Perhaps after I had a few drinks in me, I would have changed my mind….

All in all, it was a fun night, and now I’m headed to see all my co-workers again for a baby shower!

One thought on “Ready for Wellies

Leave a Comment

