Sandwich Week

Sandwich week is not going so well. It turns out you have to have stuff to put on sandwiches to make them. Go figure!

Instead, I’ve been making meals from the paltry few ingredients we have left at home, which can actually turn into a decent meal if you know what you’re doing. And I do.

What we had in the house: one can of crushed tomatoes, a jar of pesto, a half bag of frozen shrimp, frozen salmon, a bag of frozen fajita mix (peppers and onions), cheese, dehydrated mushrooms, eggs, a bag of frozen gnocchi, and our regular baking supplies.

Monday night I made two different frittatas: one with shrimp, pesto, Parmesan, and sauteed frozen peppers and onion (from a frozen fajita mix), and one with the peppers and onion sauteed with cumin and oregano, and cheddar cheese, which I topped with salsa and Greek yogurt.

I adapted Alton’s recipe, but the frittatas got a little too browned on top–we must have an extra hot broiler.

032 I served my frittata with a toasted bagel and cream cheese.

033

I had an early day on Tuesday, so I came home and made pizza dough. With yeast and everything! I was very proud of myself.

One pizza had homemade tomato sauce with green peppers and onions (seriously, we need more vegetables), rehydrated oyster mushrooms, black olives, mozzarella and Parmesan.

005

The other pizza was pesto with salmon, green peppers and onions, and feta cheese.

004

When I couldn’t get the first pizza off the silicone mat, I had to turn it into a calzone and served it with some of the leftover tomato sauce. The accidental calzone turned out quite well, and I really liked the dough recipe. It was fluffy and chewy, just the way I like it.

006

Since the running theme of the week seemed to be sauteed peppers and onions, I used that and the leftover tomato sauce and cheese from the night before to top some gnocchi I found hiding in our freezer.

I cooked the gnocchi in the leftover ‘mushroom broth’ that came from rehydrating the oyster mushrooms.

010

Even though our dinners have been relatively decent, I can’t wait to go grocery shopping this weekend. It’s definitely one of my favorite activities.

Leave a Comment

