Thursday Things

1. My car is in the shop again after it stopped unexpectedly at an intersection two days in a row. Gaaaahhh! Will my car troubles never be gone? Fortunately, Dan and Em let me borrow Bob again, so I’ll have to make some more cookies for them.

008

2. I ate salmon four days in a row. First,  I made smoked salmon brie en croute for the Oscar party on Sunday (plus I ate some of the leftover salmon).

073When I came home Monday night, Dave had made two different kinds of broiled salmon with vegetable rice pilaf for dinner.

088

 

090Tuesday, I made lox bagel sandwiches for dinner.

015Yum! I was also really excited to have asparagus again, because it felt like spring. All I did was toss them in a little olive oil, salt, and pepper, and put under the broiler for 9 minutes. Then I sprinkled some lemon juice and Parmesan cheese on top.

Wednesday, leftover bagel sandwich with Monday’s broiled salmon for lunch. I had to Google how much salmon I could eat before I died from some too-much-fish related cause.

3. I don’t normally read chick lit, but I downloaded an Amazon special on my Kindle a few months ago called The Husband’s Secret. Terrible title, great book. Since then, I have read every Liane Moriarty book. (I’m currently on the last one). I always think the titles and synopses sound uninteresting, and then I inevitably get sucked in.

Plus, I love the fact that her last name is Moriarty, a nod to my Sherlock obsession.

4. Dave and I were discussing money the other night and how we can curb our spending. We ordered takeout infrequently when we lived in Green Bay, but now we order it at least twice a week, which we have discovered is because our love of cooking does not overcome our hatred of doing dishes. So we have decided (or I have decided) to do more Sunday prep and eat more sandwiches. Thus, last night’s dinner.

018

A hummus, aged cheddar, spinach, and mustard sandwich on German wheat bread with a side of roasted garlic broccoli. Never mind the fact that I had to make the hummus first and then wash the food processor….living without a dishwasher is definitely a change.

019

5. When I got home from work yesterday, the garbage can was perched properly in the shoveled out spot, but it took me a minute to find the recycling bin, as it was halfway between our driveway and the neighbor’s driveway.

017

You know it’s a bad winter when even the garbage man says, “F*&k it…..”

One thought on “Thursday Things

Leave a Comment

