Cold or Snow?

The first two days this week there was a winter chill advisory. Schools in Stevens Point and the surrounding areas were shut down. Naturally, Dave had to work (as did I), but his job involves being outside, and I’m glad he didn’t freeze to death. At least it was only -40 with windchill as opposed to the last time schools were shut down when it was -70 with windchill.

Yesterday, the cold snap dissipated. When I left work, it was a balmy 17 degrees, and it reminded me of the first day of spring.

This morning, there’s a winter weather advisory with 2 to 5 inches of snow possible. And we all know it’s going to be 5.

007

 

Summer, come back to meeeeeee! I hope we get a long summer and fall to make up for this nonsense.

Last night, per my “meal plan,” was one-pot pasta night.

001

 

I love that everything cooks at the same time and turns into a creamy, delicious mess of noodles. I did mussels on the side again, but I must have grabbed the frozen mussels in garlic butter sauce instead of tomato garlic sauce.

002

 

That was not a travesty.

On the side I made a big salad with chopped romaine, chopped cucumbers, steamed broccoli, black olives, and diced tomatoes. I tossed the salad with a tiny bit of ranch dressing, enough to give it some flavor, but not enough to make it soggy.

003

 

It only takes about 30 minutes for one-pot pasta from start to finish, so dinner came together quite quickly.

004

 

This plate is another one of our Goodwill finds. I love it.

006

 

 

Please, next time you want to make spaghetti, try it this way. It is so good!005

 

I am having the hardest time staying awake past nine during the week. It is so dark, my body automatically shuts off, and I want to curl in the blankets with a book until I fall asleep. Hopefully that changes when the sunlight lasts a little longer.

 

One thought on “Cold or Snow?

Leave a Comment

