Meal Planning

I made a meal plan this week. It consisted of me telling Dave: “I’m making curry on Monday, pizza on Tuesday, one-pot pasta on Wednesday, and Thursday, you’re in charge of dinner because I work late.”

I came home Monday to find Dave had bread dough rising in the kitchen for bread bowls. He told me we could refrigerate or freeze them for the split pea soup he made to keep on hand. Our freezer meals are getting better and better.

005

I kind of went a little spice-crazy with Monday’s curry. The curry paste I have is from one of the best stores in the world (aka World Market), and I wasn’t sure how spicy the mild was. Sometimes when you order “mild” at an Indian restaurant, it comes blazing hot.

This curry paste is really good, thick and flavorful, but not nearly hot enough by itself, so I ended up overdosing the meal a little. This week’s curry included:

  • 1 can diced tomatoes (not drained)
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 5 sliced mushrooms
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp curry paste
  • 1 tbsp hot curry powder
  • a really hefty dose of sriracha (as in, enough to make Dave’s eyes water)
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt

I served the curry over brown rice with another dollop of yogurt on top. It was really spicy but really good.

003

 

I had to have a piece of wheat bread on the side to soak up all the delicious curry sauce.

004

 

Dave was out of town for work Tuesday night, so I was home alone. I’m glad we have cats, because I can’t imagine how lonely the house would have been without him and them. It was so quiet in the house, and I just missed having him there.

I stopped at the store on the way home to get wheat flour, but I knew I wasn’t going to make pizza crust for myself at that time, so I picked up some wheat pizza crusts.

006

 

I made one pizza with sauteed mushrooms and bleu cheese.

008

 

And another with green peppers and olives.

007

 

Baked at 425 for 15 minutes.

009

 

 

The crust was way too thin for my tastes, but you still can’t really go wrong with pizza. However, I think I’m going to follow Smitten Kitchen’s advice and make some pizza dough to keep in the freezer for pizza nights.

010

I started another Oscar movie Monday night and finished it Tuesday night: August: Osage County. It’s a black comedy featuring an all-star cast (including Benedict Cumberbatch from Sherlock!) playing various members of a highly dysfunctional family. The acting is incredible; I wouldn’t be surprised if Meryl Streep or Julia Roberts took home another award.

I ended up reading in bed for a few hours just because it was so quiet sitting in the living room by myself at night. The kitties must have picked up on it, because every time I woke up during the night, they were sleeping on different parts of me. This morning, Artemis was curled up under my arm, and Athena was sleeping right next to my butt. Weirdos. I love ’em.

Leave a Comment

