It’s a Rich Man’s World

“Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.” ~Oscar Wilde

I have been almost constantly thinking about money this week. I hate it. I try not to think about all the money I owe, because it makes me question my self-worth and feel horrible about myself. I loved the college I went to, but if I could go back in time, I definitely would have never gone to a private college, unless I was going to be a doctor or lawyer. Dave and I work so hard, and it seems like we never get anywhere.

I’ve been waiting to hear the status on my car for almost two weeks now, but a large part of me never wanted to get the call that it was done. It is. And the total damage went from the estimated $2200 to $2700. I feel physically ill trying to think about that much money. It actually doesn’t look like a huge amount until I remember that was about half of our wedding. Yeesh.

I’ve actually been staying in pretty good spirits lately when I don’t think about money and how much I hate snow and winter. I read a great book this week, The Fault in Our Stars.

It’s marketed for young adults, which is probably why it only took me three days to read it. It’s a Romeo and Juliet story about two young cancer patients that manages not to be maudlin, which in itself is amazing. Even more than that, the dialogue is wonderful, the characters are incredibly real, and it’s a fresh look at cancer from a young person’s perspective.

I also found out that the author is one of Dave’s favorite video bloggers, which made me really happy. Dave doesn’t like to read, so we never talk about books together, and this made me feel a little closer to him in the literature world.

Dinners this week haven’t been terribly exciting. Monday was my late day, so Dave either cooks or orders out. This week, he ordered pizza. Always good. I could probably eat pizza twice a week and never get sick of it. And curry. And sushi. And one-pot pasta. Now I think I ran out of days.

Tuesday, I pulled the rest of my cauliflower sauce out of the freezer to make fettucine.

001

A cook’s best weapon:

002

Dave bought me some good gin last week to make martinis. He knows the way to my heart.

I love that the fettucine noodles only take three minutes to cook. And they’re so pretty! These were a mixture of spinach and basil fettucine noodles.

003

I almost wish I would have left the noodles and sauce alone, but I wanted to use up last weekend’s leftovers, so I stirred in some beef and chopped potatoes.

004

It was yummy, but by the time Dave ate, it was all gluey and cold from sitting out, so I’m sure I had a better dinner than he did.

Yesterday I was in a bad mood after work, so I came directly home to a tangerine melon bubble bath and the rest of my book. I felt a lot better after that, so I whipped up some hummus and made myself a snack plate for dinner.

005

I’m certain I could also have a snack plate for dinner twice a week. This one had cucumber slices, broccoli, carrots, pickles, avocado, pepper jack and smoky swiss cheese, and black bean hummus.

I’m already anxiously awaiting the weekend, as I have grand plans to clean the house, shovel the sidewalk, and power through a few movies for my Oscar party in March. With a martini.

One thought on “It’s a Rich Man’s World

  1. Pingback: Family & Food | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

