Brain Food

My brain has been all over the place lately. Of course it could be due to the fact that my uncle just passed, I’ve been dealing with some personal issues, and my car still isn’t working, but I’ve got a nagging suspicion that I just haven’t been exercising my brain as much lately.

It was easy in school when I was constantly prodded to learn new things, but now that I’ve graduated, I feel like I’m getting….dumber. I constantly forget where I put things, have to recheck the house after I’ve gone outside to make sure I haven’t left the oven or coffee pot on, and feel like I can’t carry on a good conversation sometimes. Sometimes I can’t even commit to finishing what I’ve started: case in point, I haven’t touched my knitting in several weeks, and the other night when I started to make tacos, I ended up with chili.

001

It was good chili made with a box of southwestern style quinoa I received from my mom for Christmas (yes, we’re a food gift family), a can of kidney beans, a jar of crushed tomatoes, some spinach, and lots of spices.

002

Since we had no good bread to dip in it, I toasted some leftover bread cubes from Thanksgiving (hidden in the freezer) to make garlic croutons and also topped my chili with plain Greek yogurt.

003

While I was eating dinner, I decided that I am going to make a New Year’s Resolution: to exercise my brain more, including reading more nonfiction (I read a lot, but it is mostly fiction), doing crossword puzzles (especially while watching TV), and listening to more classical music.

Reading threads on the internet seems to help as well. I felt infinitely smarter after reading people’s responses to the upcoming freeze (Take that Al Gore! no wonder ur wife drank). *sigh*

Leave a Comment

