New Beginnings

Hey, everyone! I hope you had a wonderful New Year.

027

Dave doesn’t like celebrating New Year’s because it’s “just another day of the year” but if you’ve read this blog for even a few months, you know that I celebrate pretty much everything. Life isn’t always a walk in the park, so celebrating as often as possible seems to brighten things up.

My friends Dan and Em hosted a small New Year’s party where we intended to marathon Sherlock with appetizers, punch, and champagne. I was done with work at noon on New Year’s Eve (one of selling points of working at a clinic!), so I got home early to make Reuben Pigs in a Blanket, a recipe from the last issue of my Food Network Magazine. This is so not a Chel recipe, since I hardly ever use crescent rolls, and I never use cocktail sausages, but I love reubens, so this looked like a fun and inexpensive appetizer.

All it requires is a can of crescent rolls, a can of sauerkraut, a jar of pickle relish, some shredded Swiss cheese, cocktail sausages, and caraway seeds. The recipe can be found here.

004

005

006

008

I have to admit, it was kind of a putzy appetizer, so I’m not sure if I would make them again (although they got devoured when I made them for the Leahy Christmas gathering last weekend). They’re a fun group-making appetizer, though. Aurelia was in charge of cheese last time and thought a large handful of cheese per roll was better than a sprinkle.

I bought two cans of crescent rolls, so I ended up making a filling to stuff the rest with out of a can of lump crab meat, some sauteed spinach, onions, and garlic and a sprinkle of mozzarella.

009

We also had buffalo chicken dip, smoked salmon and cream cheese with cucumbers and crackers, goat cheese bruschetta, and eggplant tapenade dip with pitas. My friend Jake also brought his home-brewed hard cider, including orange-ginger and cherry, which were easily the best ciders I’ve ever had.

010

Our marathon only lasted half an hour into one episode before we shut it off to continue socializing. It was kind of a low-key night, but exactly what I needed.

013

015

024

The next day, Dave and I tried unsuccessfully to start my car, which has been sitting dead in the driveway since Tuesday. Poor Serenity! Three cars in 2013, I was really hoping this would be my year for cars. Fortunately, my friend Emily lent me her car after a horrible experience waiting for a cab Tuesday night in -4 degree weather.

003We finally gave up on it after half an hour on New Year’s Day and headed over to Dan and Em’s again for a quiet morning of breakfast, tea, and Bloody Mary’s.

028

Scrambled eggs, potatoes, and mushrooms with cholula and cheddar.034029

031 I hated saying goodbye to my friends again, but after unsuccessfully trying to start my car again after we got home, I was more than happy to sit down Sunday evening (after borrowing my friend Dan’s car–seriously, don’t know what I would do without Em and Dan!) with a glass of wine, Sherlock, and a dinner of ham & provolone sandwiches with roasted Brussels sprouts.

I was pretty much bouncing off the walls ready to watch the new episode of Sherlock last night, and I’m sad to say it disappointed…a little. I didn’t think the premiere was very cohesive, Sherlock’s personality seemed to jump in leaps and bounds from where it was before, and I still feel like I’m being hoodwinked about what happened at the end of last season. Still, a mediocre episode of Sherlock is still better than 90% of the other shows I watch, so I wasn’t too disappointed.

After the hullabaloo of a holiday in the middle of the week, it’s fun to think I have the weekend ahead of me after work tomorrow!

Leave a Comment

