Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot

Hello, all! I hope you had a very Merry Christmas.

006

I have been trying hard to figure out the best way to come back to the blog, and nothing is coming to mind. I know the phrase “roller coaster of emotions” is trite, but it certainly describes how the last week has been.

Since I have only been working at my new job for a few months, I didn’t want to take any extra days off for Christmas this year. But when my mom called to tell me last weekend that my uncle Andy’s cancer was back, my coworkers kindly agreed to cover for me so I could spend a few extra days with my family. I’m so glad I did, because his cancer was so aggressive that in just a few weeks, the uncle I knew was gone, and on Christmas Day, he drew his last breath.

061

I’m so glad my family was all together to share our grief. It’s still hard to believe he’s gone, because it happened so quickly. My brain barely had time to process what was going on. I’m glad I got to see him in the hospital a few times before he passed, even if he didn’t know I was there.

054

He was so young, so outgoing, so vivacious, that it’s hard to believe that he won’t be here anymore to sing on stage with his Willie Nelson wig, tease grandma, hug his baby granddaughter, sneak bread during one of his carb-free phases, or watch his son become as wonderful a father as he was to my cousin Justin.

download

Though Christmas was marred by sadness, parts of it were still good. It was wonderful getting to my parent’s house late Monday night to be welcomed by a roaring fire and a glass of wine, and it was wonderful to see all my aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents again. We still had delicious food and enjoyed eggnog. We still laughed. We still watched Aurelia enjoy her presents and play with her cousins. We still snuck in a few holiday movies.

065

 

The best gifts around any Christmas tree is the presence of a happy family, all wrapped up in each other. ~Burton Hills

One thought on “Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot

  1. I am very sorry for your loss. I am glad you had the chance to say goodbye and be with him. And the Burton Hills quote is so true. Because you never know what will happen to our loved ones. Thinking of you and your family.

Leave a Comment

