The Devil and His Mushrooms

Dave and I had a very productive Saturday. After cleaning the house a bit, we ran a few errands, including grocery shopping and a little antiquing. I finally got to see the big tree in the square Dave was talking about.

001

 

But the sign on the ice cream shop window was just as exciting.

002

 

All you can eat ice cream for only $5?! Too bad they were closed. I could have made myself sick on ice cream.

When we came home, Dave worked on a few Christmas projects, and I worked on my food gifts: Chicken Alfredo Lasagna with Spinach and Artichokes.

003

 

And I remember why I rarely make lasagna for us…it takes so friggin’ long!

004

 

And it smelled….and looked…..bloody amazing. So amazing that I decided there was enough to make two full lasagnas and a small loaf pan for Dave and I to try sometime.

Chicken Alfredo Lasagna

  • 2 cups shredded chicken (Dave cut up a whole chicken for me and I poached it in butter on the stove top)
  • 1 can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 10 oz of spinach, chopped and cooked (you can use frozen, thawed spinach)
  • 8 oz shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • 2–8 oz packages of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 12 lasagna noodles, cooked

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine chicken, artichokes, 1 cup mozzarella, Parmesan and tomatoes. Beat cream cheese, milk and garlic powder with mixer until well blended; stir in 2 Tbsp. basil. Mix half with the chicken mixture.

Spread half the remaining cream cheese mixture onto bottom of 13×9-inch baking dish; cover with 3 noodles and 1/3 of the chicken mixture. Repeat layers of noodles and chicken mixture twice. Top with remaining noodles, cream cheese mixture and mozzarella; cover.

Bake 25 min. or until heated through. Sprinkle with remaining basil. Let stand 5 min. before cutting to serve.

Recipe slightly adapted from: justapinch.com

*****

We didn’t eat lasagna last night, because our friends Dan and Em invited us over for dinner.

005

 

We dined on Em’s famous Caesar Salad, Deviled Mushrooms with Parmesan Rice, and Stuffed Squash.

006

 

007

 

I’m not a squash lover, but I actually liked this squash. The texture wasn’t as stringy and squishy as the squash I’m used to, and sausage stuffing was really tasty.

008

 

The deviled mushrooms stole the show, though. So good. I immediately scooped up the recipe from them.

We chatted for a few hours after dinner before leaving, and Dave asked if I wanted to see the tree all lit up.

011

 

I haven’t been downtown at night yet this season, and it was nice to see it all decorated for the season.

014

 

I don’t envy the job of whoever put up the lights, but it was a beautiful tree.

015

 

This holiday season is bittersweet for me, but I’m determined to love it as much as I have loved all others.

Leave a Comment

