Broken Record

We did it! After 80 years, Wisconsin broke the cold daytime temperature record by dropping to -2 degrees for a high.

It didn’t seem so bad after I read that Antartica’s record is -135.8 degrees.

I used to positively hate the cold, and though I’m not a huge fan of it now, I don’t mind the winter weather as much as I did when I was in college.

001Trudging to classes in the blustery cold with a stack of books or to my car on weekend mornings to go to work (which was unfortunately parked half a mile away) was just plain awful.

002But now I’m lucky enough to have plenty of warm jackets, scarves, hats, and gloves, and the ability to heat my house. I still walk and drive in the snow like a little old lady, though. No broken bones or going in the ditch for me, thankyouverymuch.

003

Other ways I’ve been keeping warm include dressing silly, like yesterday when I came home from work and immediately changed into fleece-lined leggings, fuzzy socks, an argyle sweater, and a cable knit cowl.

030

Taking baths and drinking wine or hot apple cider helps a lot, too. And of course, eating soup, which I’ve had four times this week already. Yesterday’s was the best, though. Spicy Garlic Chickpea with Spinach…delicious. This recipe is a real winner. I remember when my mom first made it from her vegetarian cookbook, and I finally tracked down the recipe online with my sister Moriah’s help.

006

 

Spicy Garlic, Chickpea, and Spinach Soup

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 5 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 5 cups vegetable stock
  • 350 g potatoes
  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 200 g of spinach, shredded
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a saucepan and cook the garlic and onions until soft and golden. Stir in the cumin and coriander and cook for one minute. Add the stock and potatoes. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Add chickpeas and simmer for another 5 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Mix the corn starch, cream and tahini together, then stir into the soup with the spinach. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, stirring and simmering for another 2 minutes. Sprinkle with cayenne pepper before serving.

*****

007

 

The only adaptations I made from the original recipe (which can be found here) was to increase the garlic and use milk instead of cream.

On the side, I whipped up a Greek salad with romaine, diced tomatoes, feta, red onion, kalamata olives and a bit of Newman’s Lite Sundried Tomato Dressing.

008

 

It was such a warm and comforting dinner.

009

 

Made even more so by the fact that Athena fell asleep on my lap after dinner while I was knitting, and my hot pad served as a perfect blanket for her.

011

 

Maybe winter isn’t so bad after all.

3 thoughts on “Broken Record

Leave a Comment

