Holiday Favorites

Favorite Holiday Song

I have always loved the song Carol of the Bells, no matter who it’s by and whether it is instrumental or with lyrics. Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s rendition is wonderful.

One of my new favorites, though, is the God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/We Three Kings combo by Barenaked Ladies and Sarah McLachlan. I listen to it repeatedly during the holiday season which works out well, because Dave loves it, too.

Favorite Holiday Movie

I actually have an entire post dedicated to the holiday movies I watch every single year, but if I had to pick an absolute favorite…umm….I guess I’d have to go with The Muppet Christmas Carol. I told Dave that this is the movie I’d like to have a tradition of watching with our kids on Christmas Eve. But it’s just as entertaining for adults.

Favorite Holiday Tradition

Picking out and decorating the tree. My parents were always insistent on getting a real Christmas tree, but for a few years Dave and I had to make do with a fake one. Now that we can have a real one again, it just feels so much more festive. The whole act of picking out a tree is fun, and it’s one of the few times I enjoy being outside in the cold and snow! (Even if it is the behavior of a drunk person).

005

Favorite Holiday Breakfast

I’ve never been a huge breakfast eater, but I rarely ever say no to food. My mom usually makes stuffed French toast and my mother-in-law has cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning. Coffee and tea are my favorite parts, though.

Favorite Holiday Meal

Christmas Eve at the Dowe’s.

028

Although my immediate family members are all fantastic cooks, my extended family isn’t nearly as…adventurous when it comes to food, so our holiday meals are usually potlucks featuring the same dishes every year. There’s certainly nothing wrong with the old standbys (like cheesy potatoes…delicious), but I love appetizers, and we always have a fantastic assortment of unique noshes at my in-law’s house.

Favorite Tree Topper

Dave and I actually don’t have a tree topper. Neither of us is religious, so it seems weird to put an angel or star atop our tree. But our tree always looks pretty even without it, probably due to the million ornaments that we have.

001

Favorite Person to Shop For

Any one, really. For a few years, my friends and I had a White Elephant Exchange with the most ridiculous gifts we could find. It’s always really fun to look for these. This was the beauty I found two years ago at an antique store.

121

It was a four-sided piggy bank with buttons with ridiculous sayings like “Repeal bananas” and “Santa Claus is an Indian giver!” I still haven’t figured out what that one means.

Favorite Way to Open Presents

Drumroll, please…………………………….I don’t like to open presents. It makes me nervous, and even though I love pretty much everything I’ve ever been given, I always feel that I’m not showing my love enough. In fact, if I had it my way, there wouldn’t be presents at all. I’m a bigger fan of spending time together and eating delicious foods. Maybe it will be more fun when there are more kids in our family.

Favorite Holiday Cookie

It’s a toss up between my father-in-law’s classic peanut butter blossoms….(peanut butter and chocolate together…yum)!

016

And my Grinch cookies. I love love love the combination of chocolate and mint. This cookie has the perfect blend of both!

005

What are some of your holiday favorites?

2 thoughts on “Holiday Favorites

Leave a Comment

