O Tannenbaum

One of my favorite post-Thanksgiving traditions is decorating the tree with Davy. I have so many wonderful family members and friends that the holiday season has always been very special to me, and it was made even more so five years ago when Dave and I decorated our first apartment together, lay down on the couch with our cat Athena, and Dave presented me with a beautiful ring and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him.

100_3691

 

What’s even more fun is that the last few years, we were able to get a real tree: sticky sap, pine needle carpet, heavenly smell and all. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This is how we pick out our tree: Dave points out Griswold-sized monstrosities, I point to Charlie Brown trees, and we eventually decide on one that just grazes the ceiling. We’ve got a system, and it works just fine. Dave just needs a little reigning in sometimes.

Our tradition became even more fun this year when we went as a foursome with our friends Dan and Emily, who just bought a house and were ready for their first real tree. Dave and I cleaned up the house a bit and moved the recliner to make room. Breakfast was decided for me by the refrigerator when I opened the fridge and a carton of eggs jumped onto the floor, leaving two cracked.

001

 

Thus, fried eggs on spinach, topped with a little mustard.

After running a few errands, we met Em and Dan at their house and headed to a cut-your-own-tree place I found via Google: Pheasant Pines.

002

 

After the twenty-minute drive, we were greeted by a flock of guinea hens clucking and chattering away. The owners were very friendly and directed us to the trails that led through their 80 acre lot, used for both a Christmas tree farm and a pheasant hunting preserve.

003

 

It was a beautiful day for a walk and, though we saw a lot of nice trees right at the beginning, we were enjoying the fresh air too much to stop so soon.

005

 

Em found her prize tree right away: a beautiful Blue Spruce that we took a photo of to mark for later.

006

 

After I talked Dave down from a few 20 foot trees, we finally found the perfect Leahy-Dowe tree.

008

 

010

 

Dave carried it all the way back to where Em and Dan’s tree sat waiting.

012

 

First tree together!

013

 

Twenty points if you can spot Emily’s face.

014

 

Em cut the tree down herself, and then Dan sawed off a perfect coaster-sized end for the coffee thermos.

016

 

Beautiful!

We carried our trees back to the lodge, and the owners tied up our trees while we munched on some popcorn and picked out a couple wreaths.

017

 

018

 

The family had a wonderful dog named Ocho who I had to stop myself from bringing home. I think Aurelia gets her affection for puppies from her aunts and uncle.

022

 

The four of us have so much fun together. I hope we can keep this tradition for a long time.

We each went to our respective houses to set up the trees, and then Dan and Em came over to help decorate.

028

 

It’s a beaut, Clark!

024

 

And I love my pretty wreath.

After the tree, wreath, and Christmas village were up, we sat down for a long winter’s viewing of Love Actually. Such a good movie.

025

 

026

 

029

We planned to order dinner, but I ate so many snacks during the movie that we just sort of skipped over that part.

030

 

Getting a tree must have been more exhausting than I thought, because I ended up falling asleep on the couch and having to go to bed earlier than anticipated. I guess I needed my rest for Sunday Bloody Sunday.

Leave a Comment

