Scoping the Joint

One of the best parts about moving to a new town is scoping out the best places to eat. We’ve already discovered that Father Fats rivals our favorite GB tapas restaurants, that Ranchito Perez has awesome Mexican food, and that Matsu Ya is not our type of sushi.

I came home from work one night this week to discover that Dave had tracked down Asian food for us to taste-test from a Korean joint called Dosirak.

Not only did he pick up the food, but he took a bunch of pictures for me to share on the blog. Can we say “husband of the year?” He’s a food blogger’s dream come true. I think that’s why he makes his bread so pretty.

Though Dave got take-out, he said they had a small dine-in area, which looked pretty nice, judging from the pictures.

078

079

080

081

Even the bathroom was pretty!

082

Dave ordered Yaki Mando (pan-fried pork dumplings), Kimchi (fermented vegetable dish), Soontofu Jiggae (soup made with soft tofu, egg, and clam), and Beef Bulgogi (marinated and barbecued beef).

086

The Yaki Mando were pockets of savory goodness. They were served with a type of hoisin sauce that paired really well with the warm dumplings.

087

The kimchi was spicy and delicious, akin to a heavier sauerkraut. I loved how crunchy it was.

088

The Soontofu Jiggae was incredibly warm and comforting. The smooth tofu and morsels of clam and egg made it a perfect cold-night accompaniment.

089

What I was most surprised by was the Bulgogi. I’m not a huge meat eater, but this was awesome. I loved the rich, smoky taste the beef had from the barbecue process. I’m already craving it.

085

The meal was served with two containers of rice and came to just under $30, which I thought was a great deal. I can say with certainty that Dave and I will be ordering from this place again. He said it was better than the best Chinese food he’s ever had, and I’d have to agree with him. Dosirak for the win! (That’s fun to say).

But don’t take away my crab rangoons.

Leave a Comment

