Hello Out There!

I miss you guys! And somebody must miss me, too–I’m still getting almost 50 hits every day, so some of you must be waiting with bated breath for another picture of my dinner.

I’m waiting for payday to upgrade my space (this Friday can’t come soon enough!), but I thought I’d give you an overview until I’m able to post pictures.

The move: I’m sure you’ve all moved before. It sucks. A lot. Luckily, we had a few friends to help us clean and move, and I don’t know what we would have done without them.

The house: Pretty cozy. It’s not perfect by any means, but we’re working on turning it into a Leahy-Dowe fortress, and it’s coming along slowly but surely. Everything is more or less put away (although I’d still like our guest bedroom to actually be a bedroom and not a storage space), the art work is up, and Dave is working on making our kitchen more functional for me to cook in. Unfortunately, the oven broke two days ago, and we still have no washer and dryer. So…yeah.

The job: I’m really enjoying it so far! It’s been strange to go from a place with 1,800 employees to a place with fewer than 50, but I kind of like it. I can name almost everyone that works there, and they’ve all been so nice. Plus, I already got a 45 cent raise with a promise of another one in the next few months. Sweeet! Mama needs a new pair of shoes.

The trains: Stevens Point has trains. Not like Green Bay, where they go by once every other day, but about 15 times a day. My friend Emily says “Avoid Water St. and Hoover if you want to avoid the trains.” I live on Water and I work on Hoover. I think it’s some kind of conspiracy, but I’m not sure who planned it.

The visitors: We’ve had a lot of visitors so far–I think people like us! Already, my brother, sister, parents, and friend Shelby have been to visit. My other sister is coming next Sunday, my mom the weekend after, and Dave’s parents the weekend after that. Hooray!

The Stevens Pointers: Our friends Em and Dan have been amazing. Everything from helping us move, cooking us dinner, letting us use their washer and dryer, and planning fun things for us to do on the weekends. They’re my soul mates.

Reading: Since we last talked, I finished Shantaram, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and The Art of Racing in the Rain. I love books. I highly recommend all three of these.

I have hundreds of pictures stored on my iPhone, and I hope to be able to share some of them with you soon! Hope you have a good week.

3 thoughts on “Hello Out There!

  1. Looking forward to our visit. Plan a project or two for me to help you with.
    I’m sure there is a lot to do.
    Love you both…miss you both…see you both soon!

Leave a Comment

