I’m Bound to Pack it Up

Guys, I cooked last night!

After doing three loads of laundry, emptying the dishwasher (one of my least favorite tasks ever, and I have no idea why), and packing up all of my books.

001

Dave said he was waiting for a definite sign that we’re moving and that this is probably it. When Chel packs up her books, she means business. I could have easily used all the boxes I had just to pack my books, so I started putting them in plastic grocery bags from all those times I’ve forgotten my tote bags at home.

The kitties think it’s a jungle gym.

019

Now I just have to hope Artemis doesn’t view it as a giant litter box and start peeing on all of my books.

I packed up my books while re-watching Downton Abbey. That show is so good! I really want Dave to watch it with me, because I think he’d like it. I love BBC.

For dinner, I had to use the pollock that was thawed in the refrigerator. Dave took it out the night before, and we each tried to convince the other one to cook dinner before we ended up ordering Jimmy John’s.

In an effort to use up the food in our pantry, I pulled out a can of crab and decided to make crab-stuffed pollock. It wasn’t really stuffed, since there was more crab mixture than pollock, but I’m counting that as a win.

004

I keep buying crab to make crab cakes, and I always end up using it for something else. I swear, one day I will make crab cakes for dinner.

I also chopped up a small red onion from my Dad’s garden.

003

Then I just started throwing things together in a bowl.

005

One can of lump crab meat, one small chopped red onion, some truffle oil and breadcrumbs, parsley, salt, and pepper. Then I grated the last of the parmesan cheese into the bowl and mixed it all up with my hands.

006

I had three fillets that I cut into nine pieces. I put five on the bottom of the casserole dish, layered the crab mixture, then topped it with the remaining four pieces.

007

Along with the fish dish, I roasted some veggies: broccoli, two peppers from my dad’s garden, tossed with five cloves of sliced garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper.

002

I roasted the veggies at 400 degrees for 30 minutes and the fish at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

011

After I pulled the veggies out, I added a little lemon juice and a big handful of chopped cilantro.

010

While the fish and veggies were cooking, I fried some capers in a tiny bit of olive oil on the stove and added them on top of the fish.

009

I served my dinner with a chunk of sourdough bread leftover from the French bakery at the farmer’s market last Saturday. The whole dinner was just delightful. I loved the cilantro with the veggies, something I always forget to use in anything not Mexican-themed. And the pollock mixed with crab, capers, and parmesan was wonderful: a perfect combination of textures and flavors.

I feel like I haven’t seen Dave at all this week, so I’m really looking forward to the weekend!

Leave a Comment

