Keep Calm and Cook On

Two weeks and six days until we move. And nowhere to live yet. I’m doing pretty well at not stressing out about it, but it really would be nice to have something set in stone. As of right now, I’m scouring craigslist and apartments.com, and I keep coming back to the same ones over and over until I realize why I don’t want them.

Twelve hundred dollars a month? What is this, a mansion?!

No pets? They must be crazy.

No washer and dryer?! All my quarters are for the Ireland fund. Sorry, bub.

Near the college? I don’t think so.

In the meantime, all I can do is keep cooking, both to stay calm and to use up what we have in the cupboard so we don’t have to move it.

013

One day I’ll make my own curry again, but until then, these Kitchen of India packets are great meals or starters.

014

I chopped up these (thawed) chicken tenders, added the curry paste, butter, and a cup of water, set it to medium-low and let it simmer for 20 minutes.

018

Then I added some mixed vegetables from the freezer and a big handful of spinach and cooked it on high for another few minutes to let the sauce thicken.

015

Instead of making rice, I pulled out a packet of pre-cooked quinoa that I found at Target on sale a few weeks ago. It required tearing the package and microwaving for 90 seconds. Easy peasy.

020

I’m out of plain Greek yogurt, horror or horrors, so I added a little skim milk to the curry and served it over some of the quinoa.

011

I only gave myself a little bit of quinoa so I could have two pieces of Davy’s bread for sopping up the curry sauce. Call me crazy, but I love the burned bits on this rye bread he made on the grill last Saturday. I guess I have a taste for carbon.

Leave a Comment

