Celebration Risotto

I don’t believe in signs.

004

I don’t believe in destiny or soulmates.

005

I don’t believe “everything happens for a reason.” I could seriously choke on that platitude.

006

I think things happen because people make decisions, good or bad, that influence the world around them.

007

But sometimes things fall into place so effortlessly that I can’t help but follow my gut instead of my brain. Like when Dave and I decided to get married. When I traveled to Alaska. Or when Dave and I decided we’d like to move to Stevens Point.

008

I was a fan of the plan since a visit to Stevens Point this March, but Dave wasn’t sold on the idea. After another trip just a month ago, Dave was on board. He told me to start looking for jobs right away, since it might take a year or two.

009

I applied. I got a call back in five minutes. I had a phone interview. I drove down for an in-person interview. And three days later, I was offered the job. It all happened so quickly that it seems trivial to worry about the logistics and instead concentrate on what we want: a change of scenery.

012

It’s real. We’re moving.

 

Drunken Risotto

  • 3 cups dry red wine
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 lb bulk sausage, soysage, or whatever kind of meat you want to use.
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups arborio rice
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/3 lb spinach, chopped
  • freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and cook until browned, about two minutes. (If you’re using a pre-cooked sausage variation, like Field Roast, do not add sausage at this point). Add the onion and garlic and cook for two minutes, until softened. Stir in the rice and season with salt and pepper.

Combine wine and vegetable stock into a large measuring cup or bowl. Add the mixture to the rice about a 1/2 cup at a time, stirring after each addition and waiting for the rice to soak up the liquid before adding more. Continue until all the liquid is gone, about 18-20 minutes.

In the last five minutes, stir in the spinach (if you are using pre-cooked sausage, add it now) a handful at a time. Stir in the nutmeg, butter, and cheese. Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from Rachael Ray

2 thoughts on “Celebration Risotto

  1. Awww, I just reread the post from your visit in March. It seems so long ago! Can’t wait to live in the same town as you for the first time ever! You’re going to have to lock your doors to keep me out.

  2. Pingback: Eats Lately | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

