Sundays Are Like Septembers

I can never really enjoy them, because in the back of my mind, I know something else is around the corner: Monday. The dreaded, cruel, hit-my-snooze-button-a-hundred-times day.

And September is lovely and all, but it just reminds me that our lovely Wisconsin fall only lasts several weeks before winter begins. Blech.

Untitled

Since Saturday was a lazy day spent indoors, I felt it was necessary to spend time outside on Sunday enjoying the beautiful weather before winter swoops in with its pointy talons. So we packed up and headed out to my parent’s for another cookout.

They had brats in the fridge but no buns, so Dave pulled out the flour and yeast to make some. Mom requested naan bread instead, and I’m glad she did. Dave makes awesome naan.004

Aurelia hasn’t really warmed up to Dave yet (probably because he refuses to be silly around her), so Mom tied an apron on her and put her to work with him in hopes that they would bond.003

005

006

PicMonkey Collage

She’s going to be an excellent baker.

We also prepped some broccoli and potatoes for the grill. The broccoli was tossed with whole garlic cloves, olive oil, salt, and pepper, and the potatoes were tossed with olive oil, fresh rosemary, sliced garlic, salt, and pepper.

012

When the naan dough had risen, Dave and Ty portioned it out into 4 oz rounds.

011

Meanwhile, in preparation for Green Bay’s renaissance faire next weekend, Mom, Emily, and I glued and stapled 400 crowns for the little princesses to decorate.

007

I can’t believe how much the ren faire has grown in the past year. I think it’s going to be a good one. It was pretty cool to drive past a billboard featuring my sister as the queen last week–she’s a star!

After the naan was portioned and the crowns were complete, we headed outside so Dave could do his baker thing.

016

013It felt like summer’s last hurrah.

015

017

021

020

My Dad decided to send me home with some produce from their garden, including three different kinds of tomatoes, four types of onions, a cucumber, and a head of red cabbage. (You should have seen the look on my mom’s face when I told her I bought basil from the grocery store).

024

I think Aurelia is a pretty adventurous eater already. She walked in the garden with us and pulled off  basil leaves to chew on.

023

Dinner came too soon, but Dave and I had to be home early for work the next morning.

027

Summer’s last hurrah. The last meal before the execution.

Leave a Comment

