Crazy, Lazy Days

This whole month has been….crazy. I couldn’t even begin to explain the crazy to you. So it’s nice that I actually took the time to make a real dinner on Thursday night with lots of veggies.

Veggies make you as strong as Popeye, and when you’re strong, you can power through anything.

003

Roasted Tomato Caprese Salad

  • 4 cups grape tomatoes
  • 1 large zucchini, sliced
  • 4 cups cubed artisan bread
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups fresh mozzarella pearls
  • 15-20 basil leaves, torn
  • good balsamic vinegar
  • mixed lettuce
  • chopped avocado

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In one pan, toss grape tomatoes and sliced zucchini with 1 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp pepper. In another pan, toss cubed artisan bread with 1 tbsp olive oil. Roast tomatoes for 20 minutes and bread for 10-12 minutes, tossing a few times during cooking. Remove and let cool.

Combine all ingredients together, sprinkle with remaining salt and pepper, and drizzle with remaining olive oil and a nice pour of balsamic vinegar. Serve over lettuce.

005

 

Besides using a few pans, this dinner is so easy. You could easily add some chicken to it for extra protein, but I added chopped avocado, because in the paper-scissors-rock war, avocado beats chicken.

I also had a zucchini from my aunt’s garden to use up, so I chopped it and roasted it along with the grape tomatoes.

004

 

Yum.

It certainly was better for me than the night I consumed nearly a jar of mustard for dinner, but the taste was pretty much equal.

For the first time in four weeks, Dave and I did not go to Stevens Point for the weekend. We had a supremely lazy day on Saturday. My brother Tyler was over, and I basically plopped myself on the couch and watched movies all day. Despicable Me, Hot Fuzz, and Jumanji all played a role. Then our friend Shelby came over and we played Monopoly.

007

 

For the first time in maybe ten years, I won! So exciting. This game was certainly much more civil than when I used to play with my siblings. There was a lot of “You can pay me back later after you pass go” or “I only have $13. Is that okay?”

I pretty much won by owning all the railroads.

010

 

I love when people ride the train.

Dave made rye bread on the grill in a cast iron pot while we played.

011

 

Dense, chewy, sesame-seedy. I don’t know how people live without being married to bakers.

He made us a mid-day snack of rye bread, mustard, and smoked salmon.

013

Monopoly multi-tasking.

Shelby really wanted to play Clue, too.

016

 

If you don’t let me play Clue, I will eat you!

Okay, okay…018

 

Dave was really worried that I knew the answer so he guessed early and lost.

014

 

Eight turns later, I guessed and won!020

 

After we finished Clue, we went to Papa Murphy’s and picked up three pizzas.

021

 

Hawaiian, Veggie (with red sauce instead of white) and Mediterranean. Shelby loves ranch with everything pizza, so we made our own version with plain Greek yogurt and a ranch seasoning packet. I normally don’t eat ranch dressing, but this was really tasty.

We fell asleep on the couch while watching Hook.

026

 

It was a perfect lazy Saturday.

2 thoughts on “Crazy, Lazy Days

Leave a Comment

