Third Time’s a Charm

Last weekend was our third consecutive weekend visiting Stevens Point. People are already starting to think we live there, as indicated by a text I received from one of my friends Saturday night: “If you visit Green Bay again some day, we should hang out!”

Dave had to work late on Friday night, so I opted to pack him a bag and drive there myself rather than wait seven hours for him to get home. We didn’t get our carbon credit for carpooling, but we shaved two hours off our estimated arrival time at Em & Dan’s house, which was a-o-k by me.

I arrived first to Emily playing the piano. It’s always nice to be greeted by music.

004

And hedgehogs.

006

Hello, Miss Marple!

I’d only been at the house for one martini by the time Dave arrived.

009

The fantastic four, together again. We make a great team.

Something very comforting about Em & Dan’s house is that no matter where they move, this is always on their fridge.

042

A thank you card from our wedding with a post-it attached reading: I know them and they don’t suck. đŸ˜€

After a low-key night at home, we put Dave to work making biscuits the next morning.

031

Dave’s dad Barry makes the best biscuits ever, but Dave is getting pretty damn close. These were buttery, flaky, and delicious.

Dan fried up some eggs and sliced a tomato from the garden while the biscuits were baking.

034

Awesome breakfast.

After biscuits, we walked to the Farmer’s Market to recreate last weekend’s spread of food–this time for the Riverfront Jazz Festival.

037

It was a very pet-centered market.

039

Hello, Muffy!

040

And Alex…in a stroller. Newsflash: cats don’t like being in strollers. Outside. Surrounded by lots of people. I know, because I have two of them, and they would gouge out my eyes if I ever tried to pull that.

045

When we got back to the house, we chopped up veggies for more quick pickled vegetables. Half red wine vinegar, half rice wine vinegar, garlic salt, smoked paprika, and pepper.

046

We went to the store for a few imbibables, then waited for the rest of our friends to arrive before heading out to the river front.

062

The music was good, but the company was better.

085

As was our delicious spread of food.

074060083

This is how we do things in Wisconsin.

063

If it’s wrong, I don’t want to be right.

After five hours of jazz music, we headed back to the house for more music and fun.

116

Sunday morning, we walked to Emy J’s, the best coffee place in town, for breakfast.

133

135

I’ve had the chai here several times and it’s wonderful, but I decided to branch out this time and ordered an iced matcha topped with ginger.

136

I ordered mine brewed with water and lightly sweetened, and it was incredibly refreshing.

It was nearing 11:00am by the time we arrived, so I decided it was close enough for lunch. I ordered the Beany Bean wrap, made with hummus, guacamole, seasoned black beans, kalamata olives, cucumbers, pico de gallo, provolone, and greens. I requested apple wedges on the side, since I’m not a big fan of chips. My brother graciously paid for my meal—thanks, Ty!

Like Kavarna in Green Bay, Emy J’s handed out different objects to mark orders.

137

Ty and I got a dinosaur puppet.

138

He was all about the matcha.

142Emy J’s was packed, so it took awhile for our food to come, but it was worth the wait. The bean wrap was awesome. I loved the combination of all the different beans, and the combination of hummus and guacamole brought it to another level.

Another lazy Sunday.

143

Ty and I made the drive back to my parent’s to drop off an antique bench that Dan & Em asked my dad to fix. We got caught in a torrential downpour halfway through our drive, but at least now I know Serenity can handle the rain! Aurelia is a big fan, too.

145

On the drive from my parent’s to my apartment, I was really craving Chinese food for dinner.

150

Dave and I are foodie soulmates. He had already ordered Chinese food and it had been delivered just before I got there.

Another great weekend in Stevens Point.

3 thoughts on “Third Time’s a Charm

Leave a Comment

