Thursday Things

1. I did my own version of 30 Day Shred yesterday while catching up on the most recent episode of Breaking Bad.

breaking_bad_wallpaper

Talk about an intense workout! I never would have thought that I would side with Jesse over Walt. It is so interesting to see how their characters have morphed through the seasons.

Jesse has grown out a beard, and I could not put my finger on who he looks like now. Was it a famous actor? Dave? (I’m beardist and think all men with beards look the same, apparently). I got it at last–the exercise instructor Bob Harper!

jesse

Harper_MF_cover

 

 

 

 

Am I right? No wonder I had such a good workout.

2. Dave had an overnight route yesterday, so I heated up my favorite quick meal for dinner: curry from Kitchens of India. Like most packaged foods, it has a lot of sodium, but I don’t eat very many packaged foods, so I don’t think it hurts me every once in awhile.

curry

This was Chickpea Curry topped with a heaping spoonful of plain Greek yogurt. Due to the upper 80 degree weather, our air conditioning was on, making the spicy curry manageable. I love curry.

3. I’m a quarter of the way through my new Kindle book Shantaram.

26349 Pan_Shanataram_cov.indd

In this novel, based on the real life events of the author’s life, a man who escapes from prison after being convicted of robbery ends up in Bombay, living in the slums and acting as a doctor to the community.

The vivid portrayal of Bombay and the warm diablogue between Lin (the convict) and his hired guide Prabaker made me wonder why I haven’t read this book already. Loving it so far.

4. Dave and I are going to Stevens Point this weekend. Yes, AGAIN. I thought fish and guests started to stink after three days, but Emily and Dan keep inviting us back. They must like us as much as we like them.

 On the docket this weekend: The Riverfront Jazz Festival.

jazz festival

Source: riverfrontjazzfestival.net

Honestly, I was never really a huge fan of jazz until I took a class called Evolution of Jazz in college. It was by far one of my favorite classes. The two songs that have stuck with me most are Billie Holiday’s “Strange Fruit” (the saddest song I have heard to date) and Charles Mingus’ “Fables of Faubus.” I love how close history is tied to jazz music, particularly regarding civil rights.

5. I’m going to see Mumford & Sons in concert next Tuesday night.

Wallpaper-mumford-and-sons-32964203-1600-1000

I’m excited.

Leave a Comment

