Why We Spend a Lot of Money on Food

Why are there two cans of crab meat in the pantry?

Because I was going to make crab cakes three months ago.

Why is there an unopened bag of orzo in the pantry?

Because I was going to make a vegetable orzo salad two months ago for Illgenstock, and then I went out and bought ingredients to make German-ish Potato-ish Salad instead.

How long have we had this pesto ravioli in the freezer?

Umm….four months? Whenever I last made ravioli lasagna. Oh, wait. My blog tells me that was January. Yikes.

I’ve been craving risotto the last few days, but I keep reminding myself not to stop at the grocery store after work when we have plenty of food at home that simply needs to be used up before we buy more. But…but…drunken risotto?

027

Not yet. Patience, young grasshopper.

I didn’t really have time to stop at the grocery store yesterday, anyway. After work, I drove straight to the auto place where I bought my car so they could figure out why it was leaking and shaking. I handed over my keys and was given a replacement car for the day.

027

Shiny.

Then I did something I haven’t done since Alaska…..

004

It was time. Thirty minutes of 30 Day Shred later, I had a voicemail on my phone to call the auto place back. Turns out the leaking was just the air conditioner (which apparently is normal, and I’m just stupid for never having noticed it on any of my cars before), and the shaking was due to a gap in the spark plug, which they fixed lickety split and free of charge.

So I drove back to the auto place and took Serenity home with me. Or she took me home.

005

And then, in an effort to use up the food we already have in the house, I tried to calm my desire for fresh roasted veggies with a bag of frozen green beans and cocktail onions leftover from the time I made Mushroom Bourguignon. Which apparently was in March.

007

I drizzled olive oil and balsamic vinegar (the good stuff) over the veggies, sprinkled them with salt and freshly ground pepper, and roasted them at 425 for 25 minutes.

Then, out came the pesto ravioli and the leftover sauce I froze after making meatball subs a few weeks ago.

006

010

I topped the pesto ravioi with sauce and lots of mozzarella cheese. The pesto ravioli was awesome; I can’t believe it took me that long to use it up.

011

And since I’m a snob when it comes to vegetables, I think the only way to cook frozen veggies now is with balsamic vinegar.

009

Here’s to a not really free meal!

Leave a Comment

