Heirloom Tomato Calzones

I’m so glad Dave ventured for a walk on Wednesday at the market to buy a bunch of heirloom tomatoes.

007

They’re so flipping good, I can’t stand it.

After splitting one raw Wednesday night, he used them again for breakfast yesterday morning.

004

Deconstructed bagel sandwich with garden vegetable cream cheese, a seasoned fried egg (I think he used Oregano), cheddar cheese, and some of the delicious tomato. Chocolate Caramel Brownie coffee on the side to ease my throat….amazing.

When Dave wondered what to do with all the tomatoes, I thought we should combine them with my question of what to do with all these hearts. After all, we had another five pound can. Though heirloom tomatoes are best eaten raw, I suggested tomato and artichoke calzones, and our masterpiece stemmed from there.

010

Dave was the dough boy, of course. He made regular pizza crust and added seasonings, then split it into seven ounce portions to rise.

009

How he can make dough from memory, I’ll never know.

005

Meanwhile, I was excited to test out the gift I brought Dave back from Alaska–an ulu. I used it to dice the artichoke hearts, and it worked out wonderfully.

I also shredded some mozzarella while Dave sliced tomatoes and chopped onions.

006

We stood side by side and piled the dough rounds high with tomatoes, artichokes, onions, spinach, and mozzarella, and I eyeballed the additoin of oregano, basil, marjoram, and red pepper flakes.

012

Now this, ladies and gentlemen, is teamwork.

013

Dave said, “We work really well together in the kitchen,” and I just about died because I’ve never once heard him say that before. Usually he does his thing and I do mine when we’re in the kitchen. Calzone-making is apparently where our strength in teamwork lies.

We baked the calzones at 435 for about 30 minutes. While the calzones baked, I cuddled with Athena while we watched The Rock with Nicolas Cage and Sean Connery.

014

Athena has been all about the cuddling lately.

After giving them time to cool, Dave presented me with this.

017

It tasted a million times better than it looked (which was drop dead gorgeous). The crust was amazing, and the heirloom tomatoes really made all the difference in these calzones. Dave said, and I have to agree with him, that I’ve never eaten a better tasting calzone in a restaurant. Time to open for business!

One thought on “Heirloom Tomato Calzones

Leave a Comment

