Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling

We have a winner!

Like most avid readers, I think it would have been really interesting to read The Cuckoo’s Calling before I found out that Roger Galbraith was a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling. However, my chances of picking up this crime fiction novel would have been slim had I not known it was Rowling. I don’t follow Grisham, and the closest I get to crime fiction is from watching Bones and BBC’s Sherlock.

9781408704004

The storyline was what you’d expect: at the start of the novel, a supermodel is found murdered, and her brother hires a private detective to track down her killer, though her death had previously been ruled a suicide.

Despite the ordinary plot, the tale is deftly woven, and the characters emerge from the pages as living, breathing beings. Though Lula, the supermodel, is dead even before the start of the novel, she comes back to life as Detective Strike discovers more and more about her.

If you’re looking for a who-dunnit, this isn’t really it, as Strike keeps most of his thoughts to himself regarding who the killer is. I myself couldn’t even venture more than a half-hearted guess because there wasn’t enough information present from my eyes to decide.

However, it was the first time in ages that I read a book I didn’t want to put down, and it wasn’t because of the suspense. Strike and his secretary Robin made an intriguing team, and I would love to see a sequel to this book.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling

  1. Ahhh I am so glad that you enjoyed the book! I’m about halfway through right now and can’t put it down, either. It’s funny because the character development (and some of their qualities) reminds me of Casual Vacancy, but I have no idea whether I would have thought that on my own without knowing it was J.K. Rowling. Probably not. 🙂

Leave a Comment

