Solace….On Broadway!

Yesterday was the first time I’ve been to a farmer’s market without any interest in walking, vendors, or fresh vegetables. My brother’s band Solace was scheduled to entertain at the market for five hours, and I’m definitely a band-aid: where they go, I will follow (within reason).

It was another one of my perfect no-work Wednesdays. My tonsils have still been giving me a little trouble, but I’ve placated them with more Dayquil, Ibuprofen, and chloraseptic for the last few days to keep myself going.

Something really exciting about not working….I get to eat breakfast!

Yes, I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day, blah blah blah, but I have absolutely no appetite at 4 in the morning, and I’m not allowed to eat at my desk. I try to sneak a granola bar in sometimes, but it is inevitable that I will have a mouthful when a patient presents at my desk, which doesn’t look very professional, so I try to steer clear.

Yesterday’s breakfast: egg white scramble with spinach, feta cheese, and salsa (best combination ever) with a side of a blueberry bagel thin with garden vegetable cream cheese. Yum.

002

 

 

I also had the last bit of iced coffee from the fridge.

003While dining, I spent the entire morning (three hours!) finishing The Cuckoo’s Calling on my Kindle.

004

 

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that I couldn’t bear to put down. I’ll do a proper review later, but in short: I loved it.

Right after I finished my book, I hopped in the shower and headed to my grandma’s for a little while to see her, my aunt, and Aurelia.

005

007

We left Aurelia in Aunt Dina’s care and headed to see Despicable Me 2. I was late seeing the original, but I loved it and was really excited to see the sequel.

The verdict: not as good as the first, but still really cute. Those three girls are flippin’ adorable, and I love Gru’s character.

Right after the movie, we headed to the main event: Solace at the Farmer’s Market on Broadway!

012

The main stage was kind of a laugh, as there was no main stage in sight, nor any place for the boys to plug in their amps or instruments. However, I loved listening to them play acoustic; it was nice to hear them showcase their voices.

013

They drew quite a crowd, but the band-aids were there for the whole event.

017

019

023

It was really warm at the market, in the upper 80s, so we did our best to stay in the shade. I only left my spot for beer.

036

Dave was much more proactive and took a quick walk around the market and purchased the most gorgeous looking heirloom tomatoes.

020

There are not many vegetables more delicious uncooked than a ripe, juicy heirloom tomato.

It felt like a Friday with all the fun we were having.

024

042

Solace did a lot of requests, including our new favorite “Total Eclipse of the Heart.”

014

So.

028

Friggin’.

032

Hilarious.

Em and I just had to get up and dance for “Ballroom Blitz.” I like that our wedding made that song a Solace cover, because it’s definitely a crowd pleaser.

PicMonkey Collage

After a few beers, I was in the market for some food. I decided to try out the wood-fired pizza place that had piqued my interest last time I was at the market.

I put in my request for a tomato basil pizza and five minutes later, voila!

037

The ingredients were incredibly fresh, the tomatoes were flavorful, and the crust was super chewy and delicious. Good choice on my part.

With the threat of thunderstorms hovering, we packed up and left just before closing time. Em came to crash at our apartment and entertain us for a few hours before bed.

PicMonkey Collage1

It was a good Wednesday.

Leave a Comment

