Definition of a Perfect Weekend

I arrived home to a sparkling apartment Friday afternoon. Dave had the day off and had taken it upon himself to clean everything (and trust me, it needed it). That meant as soon as I got home, all I had to do was shower and pack before we could be on our way to Stevens Point for Dan & Emily’s housewarming party.

I’m so used to all of our road trips taking 2 1/2 hours to visit Dave’s parents that the 1 1/2 hour drive went by relatively quickly.002

I get slight motion sickness, and anything over an hour and a half is usually the point at which I start feeling queasy and need to stick my head out the window.

003

Luckily, just as I started to get tired of being in the car, we arrived. I absolutely loved Dan & Em’s house. It was so them: open, yet cozy, warm and inviting. I can’t picture them living anywhere else.

005

After getting a tour of the house, we cracked open one of their home brew beers (and a couple others).

006

After a few drinks, we walked several blocks to try one of the restaurants that they both routinely rave about: Father Fats, a tapas style public house.010

The menu changes daily with small plates that are perfect for people who love to share. That’s us!

008

Father Fats had a very large beverage menu as well, boasting homemade cocktails, beer, and wine.

009

Their cocktail menu looked great but mostly consisted of sweet drinks, and I was in the mood for something savory so I went with my old standby: a dirty Tanqueray martini.

011

It was a beautiful night to dine outside.

020

The atmosphere of the restaurant was very eclectic. I loved the outdoor patio for dining with lights strung above. I do have to admit that the tables were not really my style but they certainly made a great backdrop for food photos.

It took us awhile to decide what we wanted, so we ordered in two batches. First up: Beef Carpaccio served with brie.

012

Next, (because Dan & Em make friends with everyone) we were served complimentary Crab Rangoons with sriracha.

013

There was no cream cheese present: these babies were stuffed to the brim with fresh blue crab, a far cry from the krab we are used to.

014

Seared tuna with hoisin sauce.

016

Stroganoff.

017

Curried mussels.

018

Collard greens.

Now I know why they love this place so much. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. We were too full to enjoy dessert and decided instead to finish our meal with french press coffee.

019

Perfect after dinner treat.

We walked back to the house (I love how much of a walking/biking town SP is) and spent the rest of the evening enjoying each others company. Love those guys.

The next morning, we headed to the farmer’s market to pick up some food for the party.

023

I loved how much easier this market was to navigate than the market in Green Bay.

024

And it was adorable watching all the kids run through the fountain located at the center. We headed back to the house with our market finds, including this lovely two-mato.

025

Dave stayed at the house on bread duty while Dan, Em, and I ran a few more errands. After we came back and made sandwiches for lunch, food prepping commenced.

027

I was in charge of the hummus and made a roasted garlic variety while Em sliced and diced vegetables and salami.

028

033

 

036

Dave’s bread turned out beautifully.

PicMonkey Collage

 

And I couldn’t resist setting up an artsy food photo on the awesome butcher block that Dan and Em bought for their kitchen.

038

I love food.

040

In the early afternoon, there was a staggered arrival of friends and the fun began.

041

 

053

It was another beautiful night, so some of us headed outside while Dan grilled up a few bratwurst.

PicMonkey Collage1

 

050

 

055

 

056

 

057

 

061

 

051

It was a wonderful evening including a bonfire, a game, and plenty of moonshine.

I slept in the next morning until nine and woke up to all of my favorite faces.

065

We snacked on some delicious scones that my mom had sent while Em made pancakes in the kitchen.

068

Devoured.

064

 

067

Plenty of coffee was also consumed.

069

Breakfast is served.

I had a blueberry pancake with real maple syrup and a few pieces of uncured bacon. Delicious.

Most of the gang headed out soon after, but a bunch of us stayed to hang out as long as possible.071

JD thrilled us all with his made-up jokes. “Did you get it?”

073

072

Then we headed back inside for clean up.

076

How many people does it take to clean a stove?

077

After some dishes and scrubbing, we paraded into the living room to flop down on the floor and do absolutely nothing. It was glorious.

091

078

081

083

086

Though it pained me to do so, Dave and I finally left for home at 3:00pm. I slept the entire way back to Green Bay.

090

After we got home, I cuddled with Athena while we watched The Big Bang Theory and ate pizza.

088

And I wished I was still back in Stevens Point.

Perfect weekend.

Leave a Comment

