Car Update

Though it was inconvenient at the time, I’m really glad my dad didn’t want me to have a car until I was out of high school. Car troubles are so expensive and frustrating, not to mention a drain on family and friends who have to cart you around or lend you their cars while you figure your life out. I’m glad I only had to start dealing with it the summer before college started.

I got the call at 10:00am yesterday morning: Serenity had passed of a broken engine.

01011

“But….but….I only had her for two months!” I sputtered to the mechanic. “It wasn’t enough time!”

My brother Tyler had lent me his Saturn for the day, and I was on a mission to return it as soon as possible. Immediately after I hung up the phone, I started perusing online for used cars in Green Bay. My stipulations: mini SUV (it was really nice having the Mazda to cart things around), less than 150,000 miles, relatively good gas mileage, and cheap. No fancy Toyota Solara for me.

I found what I was looking for online: 2000 Honda CR-V, 140,000 miles, 25 mpg highway, and $3,500.  I booked it over to the car lot after work, test drove it, and called Dave to tell him I was buying a new car. Then I played the fun loan game and traveled back and forth all over Green Bay until I had a check for $2,060, drained my Ireland savings account, and handed everything over for a key.

I was pretty proud that I took care of everything by myself in four hours–I didn’t even have to call Dad this time!

Meet the new Serenity.

002

I was flippin’ exhausted by the time I came home, moreso mentally than anything else. I wanted to be excited that I had a new car, but I just couldn’t drum up the enthusiasm.

I made myself a really quick European dinner with smoked salmon, pretzels, celery sticks, pickles, hummus, and mustard and shoveled it down before even taking a picture.

This week has been so long already, and I feel like I haven’t had any time to relax much less take care of things around the house, like dishes. A pile of dirty dishes gives me the heebie jeebies, but there’s not much I can do about it yet.

003

Well Serenity, I really hope this will be the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

3 thoughts on “Car Update

  1. Although I’ve never owned one, I’ve always like CR-Vs. I hope she serves you well! Impressive that you found one to meet your requirements so quickly! Chelsea Leahy gets it done is de talk. (That’s a modified Firefly quote to match your car. In case you were wondering.)

Leave a Comment

