Describing Dinner

Tasty. Delicious. Delectable. Yummy. Divine. Appetizing. Flavorful. Scrumptious. Heavenly. Amazing. Satisfying. Exquisite. Awesome. Succulent.

With a food blog, it seems there just aren’t enough adjectives to describe good food. Even with the pile of synonymns, I don’t think the word “succulent” has ever come out of my mouth except when referring to plants. So I guess you’ll just have to take my word for it when I use the same old, same old “delicious” or “tasty.”

Last night’s dinner was just that.

005

Dave had the day off yesterday, which meant he was bestowed with the lovely task of dropping me off at work at 4:30am and picking me up at 1:30am. Then we drove all over tarnation: to the rent-a-car place, only to be told that they were completely sold out in all of their three locations in Green Bay, so I had to start frantically calling family members to see if they weren’t using their car the next day.

After two voicemails and many calls to a repair shop in Denmark with no response, we finally gave up and decided to have my car towed to an auto shop in Green Bay. The first auto shop we went in kind of left a bad taste in my mouth, so we walked across the street to a much cleaner and more professional place that listened to us describe my car’s noises and threw out the number $3,000 which nearly gave me a heart attack.

“We can’t buy groceries this week! We must eat Ramen!”

ramen-noodles

It breaks my heart that I may have to entirely drain my Ireland savings account to pay for my car, but you gotta do what you gotta do sometimes. One day we’ll catch a break. Right? Right?!

Dave convinced me that we’d be able to afford a few groceries, so we hit up Festival for a few basics and were pleasantly surprised to discover 2 1/4 pounds of fresh mahi-mahi on sale for $6.80. Score!

It clearly had to be used up asap, thus the price, but I was more than ready to take that on.

004

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 6 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 6 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp dried ground ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp water
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil (I used vegetable)
  • 6 (4 oz) mahi mahi fillets

In a shallow dish, whisk together honey, soy sauce, balsamic, ginger, garlic, olive oil, and water.

Season mahi mahi fillets with salt and pepper, then place them in the dish, flipping them to ensure both sides are coated. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

In a large pan over medium high heat, warm up cooking oil. Fry fish for 4 minutes per side, flipping once. Remove fillets to a platter and keep warm. Pour the ginger marinade into the pan over medium heat and cook, stirring, until the marinade becomes a glaze-like consistency. Pour glaze over fish and serve immediately.

The two side dishes for the night were roasted broccoli and potatoes with onions.

003

I roasted the broccoli in a little olive oil, garlic salt, and pepper, then immediately tossed them with some truffle oil and lemon juice when they came out of the oven. Truffle oil can do no wrong.

002

I roasted the potatoes and onions in olive oil, salt, and pepper, then tossed them with dijon mustard and garlic sriracha when they came out of the oven. This was like a hot spicy potato salad without the mayo.

005

Everything was….wait for it…..delicious.

My brother Tyler came over shortly after dinner to lend me his car (Thanks, brother!), so I made a plate of fish and potatoes for him as well (the broccoli was all gone by the time I knew he was coming). I went to bed a little restless and hoping to hear good news the next day.

Leave a Comment

