Checking in from the Real World

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my trip! In case you missed it, here’s what I did last week:

Discovering Alaska, Part I: The Traveling
Discovering Alaska, Part II: Settling In
Discovering Alaska, Part III: Hiking to Exit Glacier
Discovering Alaska, Part IV: Kenai Fjords Tour
Discovering Alaska, Part V: Hiking Around Bear Lake
Discovering Alaska, Part VI: Exploring Seward
Discovering Alaska, Part VII: The Last Day
Discovering Alaska, Part VIII: Coming Home

We had four cameras going that week, and you only saw my pictures, so just imagine all the other fun stuff floating out there! There aren’t enough adjectives to describe my week: wonderful, glorious, amazing, fabulous, and awesome just don’t cover it. I can’t thank Amanda and Jake enough for everything they did for us.

240

Normally at this point, I would be in the depths of despair from post-vacation blues, but this is the new Chel, and I’ve been focusing on all the other fun things I have coming up: Bristol Ren Faire this weekend (Dave’s going to wear a kilt!), my friends Dan & Emily’s housewarming party next weekend, Mumford & Sons concert, Green Bay’s Fenaissance Faire, Run or Dye, and our third wedding anniversary. I’m determined to keep planning fun things every so often during the winter to keep my spirits up. I have a great start on fall, already.

However, I do understand now why people kept asking “Why are you only taking a week off for vacation? You should really take two,” because it’s already been another whole week, and I still feel out of whack. I haven’t exercised once, and I’ve only cooked twice since last Saturday. Here’s an example of the eats Dave and I have been consuming.

001

When I got home Saturday night, Dave and I picked up take out from a new Mexican restaurant in town: La Fuente. They had homemade tortillas, which were incredibly good, but I was not a fan of their refried beans, which are usually my favorite. So the restaurant has potential, but I’m definitely not going to get a classic burrito with refried beans next time; I ended up scraping out the remaining beans and filling it with guacamole instead.

003

Sunday night: sushi for five. We had a few friends over and contemplated grilling out, but the later it got, the less we felt like cooking. We ended up getting sushi from the grocery store and watching Dumb and Dumber. So classy.

005

On Monday night, Dave picked us up subs from Subway. Mine was a veggie sub with everything but jalapenos, and then I added some leftover tuna steak that my brother had grilled a few days before. I also had some salt & vinegar Popchips. Tasty dinner.

006

On Tuesday night, my friend Shelby and I went out to Chef Fusion for an early dinner (well, early for her, normal for me during the week) at 4:00pm. I’d never been to Chef Fusion before and was pleasantly surprised. I loved the atmosphere of the lounge.

009

I ordered a champagne fizz to drink, which was great, but Shelby’s Pineapple Mojito was even better.

007

Chef Fusion does specials on Tuesday, including $2 off drinks, $3 off small plates, and a special $3 smaller plate menu. We ordered a small plate of Shrimp Scampi, 2 smaller plates (which were larger than I was expecting) of Mussels and Volcano Shrimp, and a side order of Parmesan Truffle Fries.

013

012

011010Everything was really good, but my favorite was the mussels. We wanted to split the creme brulee for dessert but couldn’t even finish the entrees, so decided to skip it until next time. Afterwards, we headed back to Shelby’s apartment for a bit, and I played with Kaylee.

PicMonkey Collage I can’t believe how big she’s getting! Kids: they grow up so fast, don’t they? Sniff.

Wednesday was another friend day. My friend Emily was in from Steven’s Point teaching a band camp, so we met at Luna for coffee after I was done with work. Except I had iced tea. Em just had her wisdom teeth taken out a few days prior and was nursing a swollen jaw. I definitely felt her pain.

017

We ended up going to the Farmer’s Market, which was as busy as always.  

019After a bit of walking around, we decided to stop at Chef Fusion for a drink before we departed. I got home and quick threw together some chili cheese fries with roasted sweet potatoes, Amy’s organic chili, shredded cheddar cheese, plain Greek yogurt, and spinach. One of my new favorite quick meals.

Thursday, I finally cooked for real. I spied a can of enchilada sauce in the pantry and pulled out whatever I could find to make enchiladas, including half a red onion, a tomato, a bunch of broccoli, and some shrimp. While thawing the shrimp, I chopped up the broccoli and red onion, then sauteed them in a pan with olive oil and two cloves of minced garlic.

021

I thawed the fresh tortillas Dave bought at La Fuente and filled them with the chopped, thawed shrimp, the veggie mixture and some shredded sharp cheddar, then topped them with more cheese and the enchilada sauce and diced tomato.

022

I baked the enchiladas at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, then let them cool before adding plain non-fat Greek yogurt and diced avocado for my portion.

024

I wasn’t sure how the broccoli and shrimp combo would work for enchiladas, but these were really good.

On Friday night, my friend Shelby invited us over for dinner to test out her new grill.

016

 

Em and Aurelia stopped over for a bit, and Aurelia had fun playing with a “my size kitty.”

010On the menu: lemon pesto chicken breasts, potatoes with onions and garlic, and Brussels sprouts with onions and garlic.

014

012

 

Shelby had lots of fun once Dave told her she could mix the potatoes with her (clean) hands.

015

 

 

I took charge of the Brussels sprouts, but Kaylee really wanted to help.

011

 

No, kitty! Iz for humans.

022

 

The grill master hard at work, while Dave and I goof around.

019

 

021

 

Dinner was delicious. We ate at about eleven, washed the dishes, and then Dave and I headed home soon after for sleep.

025

 

Up early for the Bristol Renaissance Faire today! Busy, busy, busy.

Hope you guys have a great weekend!

Leave a Comment

