I Just Don’t Know…

How many books to pack!

I’ve calculated the travel time to be 36 hours including plane(s), layovers, bus, and train. That should give me a lot of time to partake in one of my favorite activities–reading! Unfortunately, I tend to get car sick when I read, so I heard that it is very likely I will get air sick if I read, as well. Is this true for anyone else?

Still, I’m going prepared with gum and dramamine. I downloaded J.K. Rowling’s new book for my Kindle: The Cuckoo’s Calling, published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

200px-CuckoosCallingCover

I’m not sure if I mentioned this on the blog before, but a friend clued me in to its existence a few weeks ago. Rowling published this crime fiction novel under the pseudonym of Galbraith in April and sold about 8.500 copies in the first couple months. The book received excellent reviews on its own before Rowling finally admitted she wrote it.

The Cuckoo’s Calling quickly became a #1 best seller but also garnered less acclaim than previously; my personal theory is sour grapes. A lot of people (particularly from reviews I’ve read on Amazon) were upset that she “tricked” them by using a pseudonym. I personally think it’s awesome that she used a pseudonym. She probably knew she was going to be found out, but she clearly wasn’t in it for the money or fame; she just wanted to release a book and hear some honest reviews before people associated a household name with the book.

I was not a fan of The Casual Vacancy, but I know Rowling is a gifted storyteller and am eagerly anticipating this read.

I’m also packing the book I’m currently reading: Three Junes by Julia Glass.

200px-Three_Junes

I rescued it from the clearance bin at Goodwill and have had it on my bookshelf for at least six months now, along with my other “waiting to be read” books. It took me awhile to get into this book: in fact, I started it once before and stopped. I’m not quite drawn into the story yet, but I’m starting to become more closely acquainted with the characters, so I’m going to keep on keeping on.

I think I need to bring a third book with me: something light and familiar, but I haven’t decided what yet. Anne of Green Gables? Artemis Fowl? The Golden Compass?

5 thoughts on “I Just Don’t Know…

  1. I would also recommend Anne! Bring something you have read before, especially if you get motion sick. Then you can read for a bit and not completely lose the plot if you stop reading after a page or two.

  2. Pingback: Too Much on My Mind | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

