Illgenstock Extravaganza 2013

As I was leaving the blessing of the kegs on Friday near midnight, I mentioned that I was going for a run the next morning.

“A run?! Ha,” my brother said. “I’ll give you $20 if you go running tomorrow morning.”

002001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I told him, “I take checks.”

My eyes were bigger than my stomach when I blended up a smoothie after my run on Saturday.

003

I added frozen bananas, strawberries, and blueberries, Greek yogurt, green tea, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and a spoonful of stevia.

004

My smoothie filled 3/4 of a big mason jar, and I could only manage about 3/4 of it. After a shower, I finished burning my CDs for the music exchange and made a bath of Germanish Potatoish Salad to bring to Illgenstock.

Then Dave and I packed up our coolers and the car and headed out to the country. For the first time ever, Dave agreed to pitch a tent and camp out overnight. We set up our tent as soon as we got to the Illgens before we had time to get distracted.

006

Dave insisted he was a “suburban kid” and needed my help, but he seemed to do fine helping others after we got ours up.

007

We even brought our inflatable mattress, so our tent was quite cozy.

And then….Illgenstock happened.

019

020

008

056

044

PicMonkey Collage

051054

047

034

033

035

071

074

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage1

PicMonkey Collage4

PicMonkey Collage2

101124

125

132

And just like that, it was over.

I awoke Sunday dazed, confused, bleary eyed, and happy. It had been a good night. And I was famished.

Commence breakfast.

143

Bill was in his usual spot in the kitchen frying up omelets. Although I can whip up a pretty good frittata, I have never yet succeeded at the art of omelet making. Bill has, and I swear they get better every year.

PicMonkey Collage5

My mom also brought over two batches of homemade scones: one cherry, one blueberry, and some devonshire cream to top them with. She makes the best scones.

151

Dave and I split an omelet, a cherry scone, and a big heaping spoonful of potatoes.

153

We ate our breakfast in the shade as a group. Breakfast is usually such a solitary meal; it’s nice to enjoy it with friends.

157

Baby A didn’t make it to Illgenstock, but she did make it to breakfast. She’s still sporting pink chucks!

After taking down our tent and saying a million and one goodbyes, we finally hit the road. It was a looong drive back home (stupid detours).

Dave and I had planned to go our friend’s pool for a swim, but after I changed into my suit, I just couldn’t summon up the strength to go. I had been Illgenstocked.

159

Yup, it’s not a pretty picture.

I decided to hang out at the apartment and nap until Davy got home. Later that night, since neither Dave nor I had the ambition to cook, we ordered pizza.

161

Mini Hawaiian pizza with canadian bacon, pineapple, red onions, and green peppers.

162

And a veggie deluxe pizza.

160

Oh, and some breaded mushrooms. We ate our dinner while watching I Love Lucy and promptly passed out at 7:30pm.

Monday came waaaay too soon.

2 thoughts on “Illgenstock Extravaganza 2013

Leave a Comment

