Blessing of the Kegs

The loooong work week finally ended. I planned lots of errands for myself so I wouldn’t get too antsy waiting for things to happen. That’s the tough part about getting done at 1:30pm on Friday: I always think I get to start my weekend early, but in reality, no one else is done with work until much later.

First errand: eyebrow waxing. My mom said I should go au naturale, but when I do, it looks like there are two large black caterpillars crawling over my eyes.

Case in point, here’s a picture from before I used to pluck my eyebrows.

127

I guess I’m vain. I just think my face looks better without caterpillars.

001

They’re starting to creep….

Eyebrow waxing used to be like $5, but apparently it’s turned into some sort of art form. That, or they realized that people hate plucking their eyebrows so much that they will shell out $10 or more for the fix.

002

I read ten minutes of Shape before it was my turn.

003

Done! Much better.

Since I got my eyebrows waxed first, I had to complete my remaining errands at Target and the grocery store wearing sunglasses indoors so no one would think I’d developed some sort of infectious disease. I got the same amount of stares, so I guess it wouldn’t have mattered.

When I got home, I exercised right away before I had time to talk myself out of it. I did 30 Day Shred by heart while watching an episode of The O.C. (my new trashy TV show that Dave hates).

004

I picked up a fresh mozzarella caprese salad from Copps for dinner. It would cost me more to buy all the ingredients to put this salad together, so I consider it a steal.

005

Romaine, red onion, red pepper, orange pepper, mozzarella pearls with basil, and pine nuts. I added a little of Newman’s Sundried Tomato Dressing onto my salad and served it with a piece of sauerkraut rye from the farmer’s market, which is getting a little stale.

At long last, it was time to hit the road for the blessing of the kegs. When we arrived at the Illgens Bill, who reads my blog, shouted “Davy’s here! Chelsea’s here! Yay!” Love that guy.

008

I started with a Sprecker, which was the perfect cap to my long week.

At 8:45, Bill (the host of Illgenstock along with his wife Phil) read an Irish prayer blessing the creature beer “that whosoever drinks of it may obtain health of body and peace of soul.” I’ll drink to that!

I don’t have a picture yet of the blessing, since the photo wasn’t taken with my camera, but it looked a lot like last year.

blessing of the kegs

It has been a very hot week, with temperatures in the mid to upper 90s. Bill and Stella just couldn’t wait for the pool on Saturday; they got a head start with the sprinkler.

PicMonkey Collage

Look! The bonfire is all ready to go! There were quite a few mosquitoes last night, so we may have to hang around in the bonfire’s smoke later on.

009

I had a wonderful time hanging out with all my friends, old and new, near and far.

PicMonkey Collage1

They are some of the finest people I know, and I always have so much fun with them.PicMonkey Collage3

Except my brother, who is mean to me sometimes. (If he reads this, I can elicit some sympathy from him). Love you, Ty! πŸ˜€PicMonkey Collage5

PicMonkey Collage2

We called it a night just before midnight. We had to save our stamina for the big event on Saturday. I was kind of wired when I got home, but it didn’t take me long to fall asleep once my head hit the pillow. So excited!

3 thoughts on “Blessing of the Kegs

  1. I have caterpillars on my face too! Unfortunately I only like the way my sister does them and its difficult to get our schedules to match up, so this weekend I’m sporting the caterpillars! Lol! I heard Bill and Phil and Stella had fun in the sprinkler. She always has fun with Bill and Phil:)

    • I distinctly remember you having naturally perfect eyebrows.

      Stella had a great time in the sprinkler last night! I remember her being afraid to say “hi” to me last year, but this year she wanted us all to hold her. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Illgenstock Extravaganza 2013 | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

