Love Tip of the Day: Make a Fuss

When I was in high school, I was obsessed with a zineblog: The Sneeze. The writer, Steve, wrote hilarious post after hilarious post, and his section of Steve, Don’t Eat It! where he tried strange and often disgusting food items literally left me gasping for breath from laughing so hard.

I don’t laugh aloud at funny things very often (even TV shows) so this was a big deal. I stil read it whenever I need a pick-me-up, even though Steve no longer updates the blog. But to demonstrate my love, I still have my Tree Brains t-shirt from the time.I even coined the phrase “sweetlacoche” to refer to something awesome which stems from the time Steve tried “cuitlacoche,” which is infected corn and is….not awesome.

tbsmall

Even the Myth Busters guys have been spotted wearingTree Brains shirts, and Cloud Cult did Steve’s theme song, so clearly he’s cool.

Occasionally, Steve gave me some real life tips that I have carried out to this day. Even though I read this tip when I was in high school, I remembered it when I lived with a boy for the first time in college: my now husband, Dave.

Here’s the deal: the person who is home first must make a small fuss when the other person gets home.

These days, I am usually home before Dave, so whenever he comes in the door, it’s my cue to get up and yell “Davy’s home! Davy’s home! Yaaaay!” Always followed with a hug and kiss. Sometimes with a dance.

Sometimes Dave shouts “Chelly’s home! Chelly’s home! Yay!” while his eyes are still fixed on his computer screen because he’s locked in a tank battle, but the sentiment is the same. And I always get a kiss after the battle is done.

Yeah, it’s a little bit dorky. But I think one of the most important parts of a marriage (and really, relationship in general) is having fun together. Who wants to be boring?

Having fun, even if it’s a little silly, is always cool.

2 thoughts on “Love Tip of the Day: Make a Fuss

  1. Pingback: 27 Things | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

