Kale Chips

Running is a thing of the past, at least for this week. I miss it. But I’m not willing to kill myself in 90 degree weather just so I can say I ran seven miles. So it’s back to the same old, same old workout videos until it cools down.

My routine feels all screwed up. I liked coming home and going out for a long run, then coming back to make dinner and relax.

Last night was a good example of my screwed up routine. Instead of making myself a healthy dinner, I ate a bunch of honey wheat pretzels dipped in that insanely addictive creamy dill mustard. I followed it with a bowl of grapes and some milk duds. Then I decided I should probably eat some vegetables, so I made myself a batch of kale chips and called it dinner.

004

Kale is popular in stir-fries, massaged salads, and as an addition to smoothies. But I only use it for one thing: kale chips. When baked, kale takes on the texture of a thin potato chip and loses any bitterness it holds in its raw state. Plus, it’s incredibly easy to prepare.

Kale Chips

  • 1 bunch kale, rinsed and dried
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • seasonings

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Chop kale into bite sized pieces, removing stems if desired. Toss with olive oil (more if you’d like) and seasonings of your choice. (I like to use salt, pepper, cumin, and garlic powder). Spread onto a cookie sheet.

001

Bake for 15 minutes, flipping once.

002

Remove when all water has disappeared, and the edges are brown and crispy.

Serve with ketchup or eat plain.

003

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips

    • Make sure the kale leaves spread out enough on the sheet so they are not touching and perhaps cut them into smaller pieces and remove the stems. You could also rotate them an extra time and bake a little longer. I usually find the fresher the kale is (like from the farmer’s market instead of the grocery store) require a little extra baking time. As soon as you noticed they are no more shiny spots on the leaves and the edges are brown and crispy, remove them!

Leave a Comment

