Like a Kid in a Candy Store

I have a love/hate relationship with grocery shopping. I want there to be enough people around for it to be a good experience, but I want them all to be like Mr. Rogers and not get in my way. “Oh, excuse me! I’m so sorry I used my cart to block the entire canned fish section. Why don’t I get that can of sardines for you? And while we’re at it, won’t you be my neighbor?”

One of the reasons I love Woodman’s is that they have wide aisles. Plenty of room for me, my cart, and I don’t have to do any sort of weird dance moves to get past another person. Except in the produce section. Gah, how I hate their produce section. The best grocery shopping takes place when I have a clean slate at home and no grocery shopping list. Then I can meander up and down the aisles like a kid in a candy store, which is precisely what I did last night.

Of the many wonderful birthday gifts I received, one of them was a gift card for Copps. My dad knows me well. I took my merry old time at the grocery store and tried to get some things for snack nights (which Dave and I participate in quite frequently) and some things to create actual meals (since I feel like I haven’t been cooking much lately).

I gave Dave three options for dinner: Pineapple & Black Bean Enchiladas, Eggplant Pomodoro, or Salmon Burgers with Roasted Brussels Sprouts. I was very excited to find salmon burgers again in the freezer section so when Dave gave me free reign, I decided on the burgers. We just can’t get enough salmon, I guess.

001

I’ve been known to top these babies with cheese, onions, sauteed mushrooms, and more, but last night I decided to keep things simple by serving them on ciabatta buns with the best. mustard. ever.

002Dave bought this Inglehoffer Creamy Dill Mustard with Lemon ‘N’ Capers on a whim at Woodman’s once, and I can’t get enough of it. I literally spooned the rest of the last jar directly into my mouth. Then wiped it clean with my finger. We bought two jars when we were at Woodman’s last weekend, and I used half a jar last night.

004On a good bun with good mustard, the salmon burger didn’t need anything more.

003For the veg, I made Dave’s new favorite brussels sprouts. I roasted them at 425 for 30 minutes with olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. When there were 5 minutes left on the timer, I threw in a few ounces of chopped pancetta.

005It was a delicious dinner.

After dinner, I bought tickets for Mumford & Sons!

whenthegramophonerings.com

They are going to be playing in Milwaukee on Tuesday, September 3rd. I rarely ever go to concerts, mostly because I’m a cheapskate, but I just couldn’t pass up this opportunity to see one of my favorite bands. I’ll worry about the logistics later.

I spent a lot of last night texting and messaging my cousin Amanda, who lives in Seward during the summer, and is trying to plan fun things for us to do while we’re there. I thoroughly confused her and myself trying to tell her when we were coming and when we were leaving (this plane/train/bus thing is going to be a nightmare), but I kept getting more and more excited about all the things she had envisioned for us: charter boat fishing, hiking, a glacier cruise, kayaking.

75499_574038712614869_1918875086_n

Photo by Amanda

I still can hardly believe I’ll be here in fewer than three weeks.

Since my mom, aunt Dina and I are traveling together, we’ll have quite a variety of ages and adventure-types together. My aunt posted on my Facebook wall last night “I’ll do anything but kayaking,” at which point my cousin posted this picture saying “I signed us up, Dina!”

998533_629056233779783_1879175851_n

I couldn’t stop laughing.

Leave a Comment

