Wine & Cheese Party

First off, I have to apologize for both the lack of and poor quality of photos last night. One reason I’ll never be a great photographer: when I’m having fun, my photography skills definitely fall by the wayside.

It was an epic night.

065

But first things first.001

I started my morning with Level 1 of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. I was in a hurry to get my day started, and I knew the 25 minute workout would be the quickest way to get moving. After that, Dave and I started rearranging the apartment to match the ideas in my head. I love my husband for putting up with my crazy ideas. He didn’t complain once yesterday as I started moving furniture around, just helped as much as he could. Love that guy.

003002

004

It’s tough to make an apartment living room big enough to fit twenty people, but we made it work.

After a shower, Dave and I picked up our friend/neighbor (Freighbor? Neighbend?) Shelby and headed to Woodman’s to pick up crackers, sausage, veggies, and a couple more bottles of wine.

Unfortunately, I started feeling sick on the way back from Woodman’s which definitely put a damper on my day. I started chugging water like nobody’s business while I roasted a red pepper, sauteed mushrooms, and whipped up a salmon cream cheese dip and two kinds of hummus. At Dave’s insistence, I finally laid down for a twenty minute nap and got up feeling much better. Time to get fancy!

010

The captain gave Dave money to buy a slinky dress! My friend Dan chipped in.

Points if you know where that’s from.

My mom, Shelby and Cory came over to help us get set up for the party. Mom brought over key tags to make our own wine charms for the glasses, which was a grand idea.

image

We tied them on with ribbons and didn’t have to worry whose glass was whose all night. Even with wine charms you have to remember if you had the frog or the flower. With these, all you had to remember was your name.

image

After that, we put Shelby to the task of setting out the cheese (aka, best job ever…next to tasting).005

I made tags for each of the cheeses listing their names, attributes, and what wines they paired best with.

image

Because most of these cheeses were new to everyone, it was a great way to give people an idea of what they were biting into.

It’s a hard choice, but I think my favorite cheese of the night was the Blue Shropshire.

006

Besides the fact that it’s just a gorgeous hunk of cheese, the flavor was wonderful: rich and sharp with soft crumbles of blue scattered throughout.

My mom also brought a delicious Aged Dubliner cheese with stout that was awesome.

007

My mom is so fancy!

022

Aurelia stopped by for a bit to give her regards.  Hey, Baby A!

020

 

In addition to the cheese, Dave and I set out a spread of crackers, veggies & hummus, salmon dip, mixed nuts, sausage, foie gras pate, and homemade bread. To me, food is love, so I think you can tell how much I love my friends.

I don’t even know how to thank my sister for this amazing cake she made me.

015Look how beautiful it is! I think she and I were both pleased with how well it turned out. Honestly, I didn’t even care if it tasted good. But it did. Really good.
017

Then we uncorked the first bottle of wine, and the party started.

I think these pictures will give you a good idea of how the night went.

008

PicMonkey Collage031

 

PicMonkey Collage1

 

057

 

PicMonkey Collage2

 

I tried my best to close the wine bar, but I was so exhausted. I slipped quietly to bed at 1:30am, then woke up at 3:00am, wide awake and ready to party again. Everyone had pretty much gone at that point, but I headed out to the porch for a late night/early morning chat with Dave and my friend Emily. I re-called it a night at 5:00am, and somewhere in the area of 10:30am, I woke up to this:

070

 

image

 

073

 

All signs of a good party. I only wish it could have lasted longer. But now it’s time to put on my shades and finish cleaning.

image

Leave a Comment

